1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unable to Connect to NetGear Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by V8fbirdamc, Jun 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. V8fbirdamc

    V8fbirdamc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Ok, let me start by saying that I am not that experienced with networking lingo so any responses should be as simple as possible. Pretend you are speaking to a 2nd grader.

    I have searched a many of pages but have not found a solution to my problem. I recently purchased and successfully installed a NetGear N600 dual band router (WNDR3400). My desktop has no connection issues. My iPod Touch has no issues connecting to the wireless network. However, my phone (HTC Aria), my work computer (Dell Latitude D630 Win XP) and my brand new HP Slate 500 (Win 7 Pro) cannot connect to the network. The network is discoverable by all the devices but the 3 cannot connect. I removed all security and still was not able to connect. I reinstalled the router and still not able to connect. I restarted the router and still not able to connect. The Dell did previously connect to unsecured networks in my neighborhood but does not seem to like my newly set-up network. I am most surprised that the Slate is unable to connect to the wireless network. I would think something brand new would like that would not have an issue. If I cannot get my wireless router working properly and my other computers able to connect to it, it makes them all pretty useless. I'd appreciate any help anyone may be able to provide me.

    Thanks in advance for your time and help!!

    -Andrea
     
  2. mucker2010

    mucker2010

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Very likely that these devices that can't connect don't support dual band technology. Try upgrading the drivers for these devices and checking the manufacturers website to see if they support the dual band technology.

    Your router maybe broadcasting on the N frequency only. Try looking at the config and changing it. Most routers allow you to broadcast on b,g, and N at the same time. This may fix it.
     
  3. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Dual band means the router supports both the 2.4GHz band and the 5GHz band. If devices connecting to it only work on the 2.4GHz band, there's no problem. You just aren't taking advantage of the new feature. Updating drivers won't resolve this. It's a hardware limitation.

    I suspect the problem is that you're only using 802.11n. Log into the router and check the settings.
     
  4. V8fbirdamc

    V8fbirdamc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks guys. Still no progress though. The router is broadcasting both the 2.4Ghz and 5.0GHz bands - both are discoverable on the Dell but only the 2.4Ghz band is discoverable on my phone and on the Slate. Just not able to connect with the 3 devices. They don't even connect to the Guest network (2.4Ghz n) when I enable it with no security. But the iPod still has no problem connecting.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,587
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1000291