1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unable to connect to network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by PaulaDW, Jul 18, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PaulaDW

    PaulaDW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    My son's computer will not connect to the home network. He has Windows 7 and has a wireless adapter in his computer. He was able to get on just fine. He downloaded Windows Movie Maker and Microsoft Security Essentials and suddenly his computer could see the network but could not connect to it. We did a system restore to before the things he had downloaded but still unable to connect. When I do ipconfig this is what I get:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Jake>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jake-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #
    8
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-4C-C3-74-7A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-4C-C3-74-7B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{17C3777F-7D46-4CF0-889C-92EFDC9CDF12}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5CF7525D-8E94-4973-8A8F-18149CC6FB3B}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    I've gone into the properties and on TCP/IPv4 setting it's set to obtain IP address and DNS server automatically. I have restarted the computer. I have uninstalled and reinstalled the driver for the wireless adapter. I have restarted my router. I'm at a loss. Any more suggestions that I can try?
     
  2. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    Hello,
    The result of the ipconfig command shows ALL the media disconnected. This is expected for your LAN adapter but not for your Wireless LAN. In theory if it tried and failed to connect to your router it would at least give itself an IP address in the 169.254.x.x range however that is not the case so it means that the adapter is not even trying to connect. Check to see that the adapter is in fact enabled and if that is the case, tell it to connect to your router, if it can see the available networks. If not then there is a chance that it may in fact be malfunctioning. The Media Player and Security Essentials download would have nothing to do with it.
     
  3. PaulaDW

    PaulaDW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    The adapter is enabled and it sees the connections, just will not connect. It's only a few weeks old but has worked fine right up until now. :/
     
  4. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    Yes but the standard behavior after failing to complete the 'handshake' with the router is to give itself an APIPA and yours is not doing it. What error do you see when it fails to connect?
     
  5. PaulaDW

    PaulaDW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    It says "Windows was unable to connect to *my network*". So is it likely just a malfunction in the card and maybe I just need to try to get a replacement? I was just thinking it was probably something not set right in Windows especially since it had been working fine then suddenly stopped.
     
  6. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    Well you have done all the right things to try and repair a possible issue with Windows, the last test would be to connect the machine with an Ethernet cable to the router. If it connects than the issue is likely with the wifi adapter. If that fails too, than just research the methods to restore the 'socket' and get your functionality back
     
  7. PaulaDW

    PaulaDW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Okay, thank you for your help. :)
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,320
    First Name:
    Terry
    Disable encryption on the router and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable the encryption and reconnect.

    If that doesn't work ...

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  9. PaulaDW

    PaulaDW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    I actually have tried the winsock reset thing. I'll try taking the encryption off and see what happens. I'm really thinking I'll RMA the card and get a new one. Thank you!
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1129902

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice