1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unable to connect to wireless after changing carriers

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Orlene, Jan 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Orlene

    Orlene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Hi, I recently changed carriers, to Qwest. I have a Inspiron 1525 with a Dell wireless 1395 WLAN mini card installed. I have been on several other carriers and it has been a simple plug & go situation but with Qwest I have been through 3 modems, spent numerous hours and still am not able to connect wirelessly. They even had me do a upgrade to the dell wireless.

    I know my way around my system with some guidence but this is very frustrating. Anybody have any ideas. Again, I have never had any issues with other carriers such as Charter, Direct, Cable One, hot spots, & Peak Internet.

    And as far as I can tell, there is not a a IP address assigned to my wireless.

    Appreciate anybody's knowledge in this matter.

    Sincerely,
    Orlene
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    I assume you have their modem, connected via Ethernet to a wireless router, and then you're trying to connect to the wireless network on your Dell Inspiron 1525?

    ---------------------------------------

    Click Start

    In the search bar type devmgmt.msc and hit Enter

    Click the + next to the pane Network Adapters so it expands, showing all installed hardware.

    Take a screenshot of this window and attach the file in your next post.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  3. Orlene

    Orlene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Yes, to all your q's . Thank you!

    I have already visited this area Networks Adapters & here is what is under that:
    1394 Net Apapter
    Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN mini card
    Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI- E Fast Eathernet Control

    I am at a total lost. I feel like I have tryed everything & more.
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Are there any ! ? or X's next to those entries?
     
  5. Orlene

    Orlene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    No there are no ! ? or X's. See attached screen shot.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Are you able to see the wireless signal?

    If so, what happens when you click "Connect?"


    [​IMG]
     
  7. Orlene

    Orlene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Okay on the lower right side of my laptop is the wireless icon, I have attached a snapshot. But when I go to the Choose A Wireless connection it is no longer there. It was there a couple of days ago. HS! See snapshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Orlene

    Orlene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    I have the connection back & I am connected. My option is to disconnect.
     
  9. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Assuming you're not able to access the internet, regardless of it saying you're connected, do the following.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    ---------------------------------------------------------

    Also, try this:

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    ping www.google.com

    ping www.yahoo.com

    ping www.aol.com

    [Note that there is a space between ping and "www..."]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.
     
  10. Orlene

    Orlene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Here arethe results from the cmd IPCONFIG.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Orlene

    Orlene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    here is the ping results
     

    Attached Files:

    • ping.pdf
      File size:
      109.9 KB
      Views:
      85
  12. Orlene

    Orlene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Here is the results from the second ping results.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Orlene

    Orlene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.google.com
    Pinging www.l.google.com [74.125.224.18] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.224.18: bytes=32 time=65ms TTL=56
    Reply from 74.125.224.18: bytes=32 time=64ms TTL=56
    Reply from 74.125.224.18: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=56
    Reply from 74.125.224.18: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=56
    Ping statistics for 74.125.224.18:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 62ms, Maximum = 66ms, Average = 64ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.yahoo.com
    Pinging any-fp.wa1.b.yahoo.com [72.30.2.43] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=60ms TTL=54
    Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=65ms TTL=54
    Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=54
    Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=54
    Ping statistics for 72.30.2.43:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 60ms, Maximum = 66ms, Average = 63ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.aol.com
    Pinging www-west.aol.com.aol.akadns.net [207.200.111.65] with 32 bytes of data:
     
  14. Orlene

    Orlene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.aol.com
    Pinging www-west.aol.com.aol.akadns.net [207.200.111.65] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 207.200.111.65:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.google.com
    Pinging www.l.google.com [74.125.224.16] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=56
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=56
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=56
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=56
    Ping statistics for 74.125.224.16:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 62ms, Maximum = 66ms, Average = 64ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.yahoo.com
    Pinging any-fp.wa1.b.yahoo.com [72.30.2.43] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=54
    Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=64ms TTL=54
    Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=54
    Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=61ms TTL=54
    Ping statistics for 72.30.2.43:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 61ms, Maximum = 64ms, Average = 62ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
     
  15. md2lgyk

    md2lgyk

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,068
    I have had the issue of not being connected but my only option was "Disconnect." I don't recall the details of why that happens but I did manage to fix it. I found, when we were traveling the country and connecting via whatever free WiFi was available, that the wireless configuration utility (Wireless Zero at least) remembers every network you connect to. On the window where you choose a network, click on the option to change the order or preferred networks. Delete them all except Qwest.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973667

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice