Unable to connect to wireless after changing carriers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Orlene

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
11
Hi, I recently changed carriers, to Qwest. I have a Inspiron 1525 with a Dell wireless 1395 WLAN mini card installed. I have been on several other carriers and it has been a simple plug & go situation but with Qwest I have been through 3 modems, spent numerous hours and still am not able to connect wirelessly. They even had me do a upgrade to the dell wireless.

I know my way around my system with some guidence but this is very frustrating. Anybody have any ideas. Again, I have never had any issues with other carriers such as Charter, Direct, Cable One, hot spots, & Peak Internet.

And as far as I can tell, there is not a a IP address assigned to my wireless.

Appreciate anybody's knowledge in this matter.

Sincerely,
Orlene
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
I assume you have their modem, connected via Ethernet to a wireless router, and then you're trying to connect to the wireless network on your Dell Inspiron 1525?

---------------------------------------

Click Start

In the search bar type devmgmt.msc and hit Enter

Click the + next to the pane Network Adapters so it expands, showing all installed hardware.

Take a screenshot of this window and attach the file in your next post.

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
 

Orlene

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
11
Yes, to all your q's . Thank you!

I have already visited this area Networks Adapters & here is what is under that:
1394 Net Apapter
Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN mini card
Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI- E Fast Eathernet Control

I am at a total lost. I feel like I have tryed everything & more.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Are you able to see the wireless signal?

If so, what happens when you click "Connect?"


 

Orlene

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
11
Okay on the lower right side of my laptop is the wireless icon, I have attached a snapshot. But when I go to the Choose A Wireless connection it is no longer there. It was there a couple of days ago. HS! See snapshot.
 

Attachments

Orlene

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
11
I have the connection back & I am connected. My option is to disconnect.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
I have the connection back & I am connected.
Assuming you're not able to access the internet, regardless of it saying you're connected, do the following.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

---------------------------------------------------------

Also, try this:

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

ping www.google.com

ping www.yahoo.com

ping www.aol.com

[Note that there is a space between ping and "www..."]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.
 

Orlene

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
11
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.google.com
Pinging www.l.google.com [74.125.224.18] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 74.125.224.18: bytes=32 time=65ms TTL=56
Reply from 74.125.224.18: bytes=32 time=64ms TTL=56
Reply from 74.125.224.18: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=56
Reply from 74.125.224.18: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=56
Ping statistics for 74.125.224.18:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 62ms, Maximum = 66ms, Average = 64ms
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.yahoo.com
Pinging any-fp.wa1.b.yahoo.com [72.30.2.43] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=60ms TTL=54
Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=65ms TTL=54
Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=54
Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=54
Ping statistics for 72.30.2.43:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 60ms, Maximum = 66ms, Average = 63ms
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.aol.com
Pinging www-west.aol.com.aol.akadns.net [207.200.111.65] with 32 bytes of data:
 

Orlene

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
11
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.aol.com
Pinging www-west.aol.com.aol.akadns.net [207.200.111.65] with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Ping statistics for 207.200.111.65:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.google.com
Pinging www.l.google.com [74.125.224.16] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=56
Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=56
Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=56
Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=56
Ping statistics for 74.125.224.16:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 62ms, Maximum = 66ms, Average = 64ms
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.yahoo.com
Pinging any-fp.wa1.b.yahoo.com [72.30.2.43] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=54
Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=64ms TTL=54
Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=54
Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=61ms TTL=54
Ping statistics for 72.30.2.43:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 61ms, Maximum = 64ms, Average = 62ms
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2003
Messages
1,068
I have had the issue of not being connected but my only option was "Disconnect." I don't recall the details of why that happens but I did manage to fix it. I found, when we were traveling the country and connecting via whatever free WiFi was available, that the wireless configuration utility (Wireless Zero at least) remembers every network you connect to. On the window where you choose a network, click on the option to change the order or preferred networks. Delete them all except Qwest.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Members online

Top