Unable to create backup

knewbee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2020
Messages
59
So it didn't boot using Disk 2 as first boot device ?

Let's decide exactly what you want to achieve. If you just want a backup you have that already with the Images of System Reserved and Disk 2 (C drive).
Do you want more than that ? If so what ?
No, if the steps I outlined above are the correct steps, then it did not recognize disk 2 as a boot device.

Goal? I'm worried the hdd is going bad. I originally thought windows was on it (that's the reason behind my apology after finding out the correct drives). I have found that windows is on a ssd (great!) but the system reserve *is* on the hdd. If it does fail, I'm out of luck. I'd like to get the SR over to the ssd that has windows on it (disk 2). That way I can just boot from that drive and make the hdd a data drive, independent of windows.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,631
Ok, just to be sure, you have an Image of the C drive (SSD ?) and an Image of the System Reserved partition on Disk 1 (HDD) both stored on the external drive ?
 

knewbee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2020
Messages
59
Ok, just to be sure, you have an Image of the C drive (SSD ?) and an Image of the System Reserved partition on Disk 1 (HDD) both stored on the external drive ?
That is correct. I've made several images - just C, just SR, an image of both combined, etc...
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,631
Because I've never used it myself I've asked PeterOZ to help you move the System Reserved partition using the AOMEI software.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
131
Hi Knewbee
Quick quiz first When Allan asked you to copy the R: and C: Partitions to the new SSD (Post No.65)
Did you make the R: System Reserve Active? If No then please make it active and see if it boots from the SSD
You do not say if you made it active (Post No. 74) If you did make it active and it did not work then please try this.
please follow these instructions which came from Move Partition
Please read through first. ANY DOUBTS please come back and ask. Because of the time difference you may have to wait a couple of hours for my response. I will keep watching this thread.
I would put the ssd in and make sure you have a free partition space first and please make it 480MB
Clone system reserved partition to SSD
A manual file copy of important partitions has vast potential cause problems on your computer, this is particularly true when you are copying system related partitions. To avoid this, it’s recommend that you use a free Partition manager software, like AOMEI Partition Assistant to clone the partition. By using specialist software, you can effortlessly move your system reserved partition to different disk.

To clone a system reserved partition:

1. Download AOMEI Partition Assistant Standard (free edition) and launch it.

2. Right click on the old system reserved partition and select Copy Partition.

Copy Reserved Partition

3. Select Sector by Sector Copy and click Next.

Sector by Sector Copy

4. Select the unallocated space on the SSD as the destination location which will receive the system reserved partition. If there is no unallocated space, then you can shrink a partition by clicking Resize Partition.

Select Unallocated Space

5. The next screen, you can adjust the size of new system reserved partition and other parameters. Set the drive letter to None.

Set Drive Letter As None

6. Click Apply to apply these changes.

Apply Copy Reserved Partition

After the conversion, you can change the partition label to System Reserved and set the partition as ‘Active’.

Remember, the system reserved partition has to be a primary partition, if your new system reserved partition is a logical drive, then you should first convert it to primary partition without losing data. Once you have completed this, you will have successfully moved the system reserved partition to different drive. If you find that your drive has unallocated space after the conversion, then you can merge the unallocated space with any partition that you want to extend.
 
Last edited:

knewbee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2020
Messages
59
@PeterOz - after his post I embarrassingly admitted to another SSD I wasn't sure about. In the end, I tried using Macrium to copy the reserve from the HDD to the SSD. I unplugged the HDD and made the SSD the primary boot option and it didn't work. In disk mgt it did not/does not show any additional partition on the C drive (SSD, disk 2).

I will review your steps above and attempt. Thanks.
 

knewbee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2020
Messages
59
1. Download AOMEI Partition Assistant Standard (free edition) and launch it.

2. Right click on the old system reserved partition and select Copy Partition.

Copy Reserved Partition
Ran into an issue right off the bat. When I click on the Reserve, I am not presented with an option to Copy Partition. See image below.
aomei.jpg
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
131
Ok This is embarrassing they have changed the software since last time I used it.
Have just tried on mine. On your new ssd do you already have 2 Partitions 1st partition = 480MB and 2nd
the balance of the drive.? If not I will show you how to do it. I have just done it on mine. and have Pics I made.
Also do you have a Windows 7 Boot Disk?
If you do have the 2 partitions then select Clone. This will only clone if you have the 2 partitions already.
then follow the rest of the steps
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
131
I have been thinking and since we are going around and around if you do not have the 2 partitions I will put a drive in my computer and format it to a new state. I will then go through the whole thing step by step and take screen shots. I will then boot from that drive. If it fails I will work out why and also post the answer I find.
Cheers
Peter
 

knewbee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 28, 2020
Messages
59
I have been thinking and since we are going around and around if you do not have the 2 partitions I will put a drive in my computer and format it to a new state. I will then go through the whole thing step by step and take screen shots. I will then boot from that drive. If it fails I will work out why and also post the answer I find.
Cheers
Peter
I was going to add the partition in step 4 in your above instructions, so I haven't created it yet. The disk just has the C drive allocation at this point.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top