Unable to create new folders on desktop

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Knife_Nazi

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
21
This is the message I get when I try to create a new folder on desktop.


I can create new folders in other folders and cut and paste them to desktop. It would be nice to be able to make them on desktop once again. any help would be appreciated
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2006
Messages
521
Hi and Welcome to TSG!

It sounds like you may have corrumpt the registry.
Can you answer some questions please.
1/ Can you create a shortcut?
Right click > new > shortcut. THen when it asks where to just type C:\ and press next.
Do you get the same error?
2/ When did this start happening?
3/ Did you do anything that you know of, just before it started happening.

Kind Regards
Anthony
 

Knife_Nazi

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
21
same error when I try to create a shortcut.

It started about four months ago

I believe it started when i used some program to fix reg errors but i am not sure which program it was
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2006
Messages
521
Hi,
Definatly sounds like you've corrupt the registry
Did the program come with a backup feature, and did you back it up before "repairing" it?

Kind Regards
Anthony
 

Knife_Nazi

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
21
I dont what program it was I didn't know to back up and I dont remeber the prog asking. I now have back up s from everything since late august.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2006
Messages
521
Hi,
Ok we will need to edit the registry.
NOTE: FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS CARFULLY, EDITING THE REGISTRY IS DANGEROUS AND SOMETIMES RISKY!

Ok with that done, lets begin.
*********************************************START******************************
Go to start > run > type "regedit" without the quotes.
Then click on the folder in this list on the left hand side of the page.

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT
.lnk
ShellNew
Command

the value for command in the right hand window, and the entry called "command" should be RunDLL32 AppWiz.Cpl,NewLinkHere %2
Double click on the one called command, to find out,

Kind Regards
Anthony
 

Knife_Nazi

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
21
This is the value that was present rundll32.exe appwiz.cpl,NewLinkHere %1

I copy and pasted this value RunDLL32 AppWiz.Cpl,NewLinkHere %2 and it did the same thing.

So, I changed back to the original value.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2006
Messages
521
Hi,
I will be signing off momentarily, however I will think about this problem..

If you can do a system restore that would change system settings and not files, the most you need is to install the odd program or 2.

Kind Regards
Anthony
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
6,052
Try this:
Start> Run> type: regsvr32 /i shell32.dll then hit OK.
A message tells you if the command worked. Then reboot your computer and see if it helped.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
4
I just found this site and experiencing some of the same situations. I am unable to create any NEW folders/shortcuts when right click on mouse. After some troubleshooting, I have come to conclusion that my reg is corrupt. System is slow to start, slow to load programs, unable to create folders and just all around sluggish. I have double checked for virus and system is clean.

I'm to the point of reformatting HD and reloading Windows XP, but system did not come with recoverydisk and currently working with Hewlett Packard.

But, I did look at some of the suggestions that were presented. I do not have: ShellNew, Command located in the .lnk. I have the ShellEx, but that's it.

I do not know what assistance you will be able to offer, but I will monitor the site and look at suggestions. I have bought a new machine and this one will go to the kids, but I still like to learn things as I go.

Thanks
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top