1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unable to extract a zipped file with winrar

Discussion in 'DOS/Other' started by mujeeb, Dec 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mujeeb

    mujeeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Hi,
    I wanted to know how to extract a zipped file with winrar using the command line? I am able to do this with rar files, but when I try to do it with zipped files I get a message that the file is not a winrar archived file.

    I use as below if the compressed file is in Rar format,but i have some file in Zip format and it doesn't work with it...

    set unrar=%ProgramFiles%\WinRAR\UNRAR.exe
    "%unrar%" x "test.rar" "destination"

    Thank You...
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Did you read the documentation that said the console tools do not work with ZIP archives.
     
  3. mujeeb

    mujeeb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Hi,I managed to find the output by using winrar.exe instead of unrar.exe..Thanks..

    I have another query about BCP command, how to use wildcard in BCP command please?

    bcp <database_name>.dbo.<table_name> in "T:\test\ScanLog_QueryOut_On_2010-01-26_18.Bcp" -T -c

    i need to use wildcard inplace of "On_2010-01-26_18"

    Please help me...
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    BCP is not a native command to Windows so I have no idea what you are talking about.
     
  5. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029925

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice