1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unable to get internet connection HELP!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mmne, Jan 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mmne

    mmne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I have a new PC with Intel DH55HC motherboard and running windows 7 32 bit. I have attempted to install the drivers from Intel and redone the BIOS settings as well. Nothing seems to work.:confused:

    Please Help!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what are you trying to connect to wireless or by cable - make and model of the router

    post back the following


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. mmne

    mmne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Connecting to cable ADSL2 over the phone line. Modem is a Telstra 2wire 2071-a
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is this a PC you have made your self if not make and model of PC
    did it come with windows 7 - or is this an upgrade you are trying

    those devices marked with yellow need to be resolved and drivers found
     
  5. mmne

    mmne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    made from components no make and model and a full version of Windows 7 brand new OEM.

    Motherboard - Intel DH55HC
    Intel i5 3.2 processor
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  7. mmne

    mmne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I have done that and it appears to resolve it but then troubleshoot shows that there is no driver present.

    I have then installed the driver but the original error appears once this is complete.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see a new device manager screen shot again - see what difference has been made to chipset

    also on any devices with a yellow symbol
    right click on the device with a yellow!
    Properties
    Click on the Details Tab
    Under Property - drop down
    Select hardware ids
    Right click and select all.
    Then right click again and select copy.
    Copy and paste that here.


    The Hardware ID's. VEN & DEV. Look them up here.
    http://www.pcidatabase.com/
     
  9. mmne

    mmne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Intel 82578DC Gigabit Network Connector
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_10F0&SUBSYS_00378086&REV_06
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_10F0&SUBSYS_00378086
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_10F0&CC_020000
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_10F0&CC_0200

    PCI Serial Port
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3B67&SUBSYS_00368086&REV_06
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3B67&SUBSYS_00368086
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3B67&CC_070002
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3B67&CC_0700

    PCI Simple Communications
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3B64&SUBSYS_00368086&REV_06
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3B64&SUBSYS_00368086
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3B64&CC_078000
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3B64&CC_0780
     
  10. mmne

    mmne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I have looked at the website suggested and found the product but there is no additional information there to assist. I do really appreciate the assistance that you are providing.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  12. mmne

    mmne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Attached is the current way the device mgr is showing.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what happens when you run the driver file downloaded from intel for the 82578DC etherent controller ?

    another way would be to right click on the 82578DC and uninstall and then allow windows to find the adapter again and also to find the driver on the PC
     
  14. mmne

    mmne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I am pretty sure the issue is resolved as per the 2 attachments. I had tried the oldest and newest of the 3 drivers suggested previously but now have used the third and it appears to have fixed it.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. mmne

    mmne Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Sorry,

    Have restarted and it has gone back to the old error.
    I have tried as you have suggested with the uninstall and let it find it. when it starts to re install it comes up saying it was unable to and reverts back to the same device mgr screen shown previously.:(
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/974989

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice