1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unable to install MS security updates

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by hhannam, Jan 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hhannam

    hhannam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    481
    First Name:
    Dick
    Attn: Moderators

    Note I had recently switched my regular anti-virus software from Avast to AVG to Zone Alarm in short succession.

    The headline issue is what lead me to begin searching for possible malware problems. I eventually contacted MS tech support and after they took remote control of my computer it was pointed out to me that "a third party was blocking the MS updates, and that my computer was contaminated with malware and at risk, and my network was compromised. I was then informed that they could only resolve my problems for $179/yr, or $79.99 for this one occasion....I declined their offer.

    At that point I started downloading and installing (or at least attempting to do so) several different (free) malware removal programs and doing full scans and malware removals. I will submit a list below of the programs I was successful in using and getting scan results with malware (which were supposedly removed), and also the programs that I was unsuccessful with installing. I wondered if the same malware that was blocking the MS updates was also blocking some of the security software installations. In any case, despite some malware removals (trojans mostly) I am still unable to install the MS updates.

    I have also done as instructed by the moderator instructions in that I've submitted the HJT and other scan logs for your perusal, but I was unable to Zip them before attaching. I got a "crash" notice from my zip program each time I attempted to zip the files, so I'm just attaching them as they are. Please contact me if this is a problem.

    Unsuccessful install attempts:

    MS security updates
    AVG Antivirus
    Bitdefender
    Kapersky TDSSKiller
    Kingsoft
    PC Tools antispyware free
    D7
    CNET Download Installer

    Successful installs:

    AVAST
    SuperAntispyware
    ZoneAlarm Antispyware (firewall already installed)
    Iobit malware removal
    Microsoft Security Essentials (After 7+ hours of full scan found a trojan and adware)
    ********************************************************************************
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+, x86 Family 15 Model 75 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3518 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 238409 MB, Free - 167851 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTek Computer INC., NODUSM3
    Antivirus: None
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    step 1
    Please download AdwCleaner to your desktop.
    • Double click the adwcleaner.exe to run the tool.
    • Click Search.
    • When the scan finished, a notepad window will be opened.
    • Please post the contents here in your topic.
    • The logfile will also be saved in C:\AdwCleaner[R1].txt.
     
  3. hhannam

    hhannam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    481
    First Name:
    Dick
    Here is the scan you requested....and a warm "Hello" to a bloody Brit. My paternal grandparents were Brits and moved to the U.S. in the latter part of the nineteenth century.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    ok next steps

    Please run AdwCleaner again, This time press delete, It will clear the problems & then offer to reboot, please let it reboot & then post the log it makes.
    The logfile will also be saved in C:\AdwCleaner[S1].txt

    once it has rebooted
    then
    Delete any existing version of ComboFix you have sitting on your desktop
    Please read and follow all these instructions very carefully
    Do not edit or remove any information or user names etc, otherwise we cannot fix the problem. If you insist on editing out anything then I will close the topic & refuse to offer any help.

    Download ComboFix from Hereto your Desktop.

    **Note: It is important that it is saved directly to your desktop and run from the desktop and not any other folder on your computer**
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    1. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.

    • Very Important! Temporarily disable your anti-virus and anti-malware real-time protection and any script blocking components of them or your firewall before performing a scan. They can interfere with ComboFix or remove some of its embedded files which may cause "unpredictable results" or stop combofix running at all
    • Click on THIS LINK to see instructions on how to temporarily disable many security programs while running combofix. The list does not cover every program. If yours is not listed and you don't know how to disable it, please ask.
    • Remember to re enable the protection again after combofix has finished
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    2. Close any open browsers and any other programs you might have running
    Double click on renamed combofix.exe & follow the prompts.​
    If you are using windows XP It might display a pop up saying that "Recovery console is not installed, do you want to install?"
    Please select yes & let it download the files it needs to do this. Once the recovery console is installed Combofix will then offer to scan for malware. Select continue or yes.
    When finished, it will produce a report for you.
    Please post the "C:\ComboFix.txt" for further review


    ****Note: Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it's running. That may cause it to stall or freeze ****

    Note: ComboFix may reset a number of Internet Explorer's settings, including making it the default browser.
    Note: Combofix prevents autorun of ALL CDs, floppies and USB devices to assist with malware removal & increase security.Read HERE why we disable autoruns

    Please do not install any new programs or update anything (always allow your antivirus/antispyware to update) unless told to do so while we are fixing your problem. If combofix alerts to a new version and offers to update, please let it. It is essential we always use the latest version.

    Please tell us if it has cured the problems or if there are any outstanding issues

    *EXTRA NOTES*
    • If Combofix detects any Rootkit/Bootkit activity on your system it will give a warning and prompt for a reboot, you must allow it to do so.
    • If Combofix reboot is due to a rootkit, the screen may stay black for several minutes on reboot, this is normal
    • If after running Combofix you receive any type of warning message about registry key's being listed for deletion when trying to open certain items, reboot the system and this will fix the issue (Those items will not be deleted)

    Post the log in next reply please...
     
  5. hhannam

    hhannam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    481
    First Name:
    Dick
    I have attached the combo fix log and also the adwcleaner log (obtained after delete function exercized).
     

    Attached Files:

  6. hhannam

    hhannam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    481
    First Name:
    Dick
    For some reason the combo fix log file will not upload. Too large perhaps?
     
  7. hhannam

    hhannam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    481
    First Name:
    Dick
    The combo fix log is 1.47MB, and I am unable to zip it. My zip software reports a crash each time I attempt to zip (any file).
    I'll proceed to uninstall that program and load another zip program to make the attempt again.
     
  8. hhannam

    hhannam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    481
    First Name:
    Dick
    Attn: dvk01

    I just attempted to load the MS security updates again after your scans and reloading my Zone Alarm firewall and MS Security Essentials Anit-virus program, but they are still failing to load unfortunately. Thought you should know...
     
  9. hhannam

    hhannam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    481
    First Name:
    Dick
    I zipped the combofix log with a new program and will now attempt to attach it to this message.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    Combofix has deleted loads of files that it shouldn't of done
    please upload this file so we can set cf to restore all the wrongly deleted ones
    I have no idea how it happened or why or what is wrong with your computer to account for all the problems that you are having, but suspect it might be connected to Zone alarm somehow

    please go to C:\qoobox & find ComboFix-quarantined-files.txt zip that file & upload it here please
     
  11. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    hang on, on looking at it again. it looks like the removed files were in a program files folder inside programs files
    did you copy some programs from another computer

    none of the programs that were deleted are actually listed as installed in your installed programs listing
    and weren't shown as active or installed in the earlier logs
     
  12. hhannam

    hhannam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    481
    First Name:
    Dick
    Derek ~
    A tech repairman assisted me in past times to set up my new(er) computers and he did transfer all files, including program files, to the new computers. I was aware that files (and copies of files) from at least two or three computers ago are still contained on my hard drive. I just haven't ever taken the time to delete them, so perhaps the program files deleted was not a bad thing after all.
     
  13. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    The next problem is an overload of antiviruses which all clash and are very likely to be causing the problems
    uninstall ALL antiviruses and reboot then install just ONE antivirus
    You decide which one you want, but I would use MSE
     
  14. hhannam

    hhannam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    481
    First Name:
    Dick
    To: dvk01

    While I installed and scanned with several antiviruses, I only installed one at a time. Coincidentally, the last program I used, and the one I currently have installed for real time protection is MSE. The other antivirus programs (that I was able to download and install...and unintstall) are just sitting as .exe files in a file I have labeled, "Downloads - Active programs". I have edited this message by attaching a list of my installed programs from my Revo Uninstaller program.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. hhannam

    hhannam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    481
    First Name:
    Dick
    dvk01 ~

    I've attached what I would call a product promotional scan result from RegClean Pro for which you may or may not find any value. They only correct 15 of the errors for free, and you have to purchase their program to fix the rest. The only reason I did this was that I recall a scan result and a comment from the MS tech support rep I was having a live chat with and it was purported at that time that I had significant registry corruption. As for how much of that has to do with any malware or virus that may be infecting my unit I haven't a clue.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085107

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice