1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Unable to install my speakers

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by LUIS39, Nov 19, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500 CPU @ 3.30GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8080 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, -1988 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 460 GB (406 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 1495
    Antivirus: Avast Antivirus, Enabled and Updated

    Windows has internal speakers but I need to install my own. I looked everywhere. How do I do that, please?

    Thanks.
     
  2. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,430
    Try plugging the speakers into the little lime green port on the back of the motherboard.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,690
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the model name and model number and serial number of your HP computer?

    Does it have an external powered speaker set or does it have a monitor with built-in speakers?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    HP MODEL ELITE 8200 SN2UA2220ZMK


    The sound comes from inside the PC; I plugged in the speakers to the green outlet but nothing.
     
  5. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,301
    First Name:
    David
    Did you turn on them speakers?
    Have they been muted?
     
  6. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    HP MODEL ELITE 8200 SN2UA2220ZMK


    The sound comes from inside the PC; I plugged in the speakers to the green outlet but nothing.
     
  7. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    There's low sound from internal speakers. the speakers an on (green light) and they are plugged into the lime green outlet and not muted.
     
  8. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,430
    On all of the internal images I see on Google, as well as on HP's site, it doesn't appear that there are any external speakers. Did someone add one/some?

    Does it have an add on soundcard adapter plugged into a PCI slot?
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,690
    First Name:
    Frank
    According to that serial number, you have a HP Compaq 8200 Elite Small Form Factor PC which was purchased in June 2012.
    According to its support site, it has an integrated Realtek ALC261 High Definition Audio sound device.

    Which "Version" and "OS Build" of Windows 10 Pro 64-bit do you have in it?
    There have been complaints of sound problems in some PC's that have Version 1809 OS Build 17763.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,430
    Ah ha, check this out:

    HP.com > Technical Reference Guide - HP Compaq 8200 Elite Series Business Desktop Computers
     
  11. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    VERSION 1803 OS BUILD 17134.407
     
  12. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,430
    Did you mute the internal speaker using the F10 BIOS control?
     
  13. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    Sorry, I thought that I had answered you. The speakers are on and not muted. I upgraded the Realtek driver and and switched to another outlet and problem is solved.
     
  14. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    I upgraded the Realtek driver and and switched to another outlet and problem is solved. On the old PC, the outlet was in the middle, on this PC it's on the right hand side. Txs once again.
     
  15. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,430
    (y) Great to hear you finally got it figured out.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1219343

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice