1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

unable to install on my home computer

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by kungfu, Jan 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kungfu

    kungfu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    my home pc system status is:

    Computer:
    Computer Type ACPI Uniprocessor PC
    Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
    Internet Explorer 6.0.2900.2180 (IE 6.0 SP2)
    DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
    Computer Name HOME
    User Name Sorei
    Logon Domain HOME
    Date / Time 2007-01-20 / 13:08

    Motherboard:
    CPU Type Intel Pentium 4 506, 2666 MHz (20 x 133)
    Motherboard Name Asus P5RD1-VM (2 PCI, 1 PCI-E x1, 1 PCI-E x16, 2 DDR DIMM, Audio, Video, LAN)
    Motherboard Chipset ATI Radeon Xpress 200
    System Memory 192 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
    BIOS Type AMI (10/19/05)
    Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)

    Display:
    Video Adapter ATI RADEON XPRESS 200 Series (64 MB)
    Video Adapter ATI RADEON XPRESS 200 Series (64 MB)
    3D Accelerator ATI Radeon Xpress 200 (RC410)
    Monitor Samsung SyncMaster 793S/793V/MagicSyncMaster CM173G [17" CRT] (HHAY932858)

    Multimedia:
    Audio Adapter Analog Devices AD1986A @ ULi/ALi M5461 High Definition Audio Controller

    Storage:
    IDE Controller ALi M5229 PCI Bus Master IDE Controller
    SCSI/RAID Controller SCSI/RAID Host Controller
    SCSI/RAID Controller ULi SATA/RAID Controller (M1573)
    Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
    Disk Drive ST3802110A (80 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/100)
    Disk Drive JetFlash TS512MJFV30 USB Device (478 MB, USB)
    Optical Drive ASUS CB-5216A (DVD:16x, CD:52x/32x/52x DVD-ROM/CD-RW)
    Optical Drive LV3504Z FXT008Q SCSI CdRom Device
    Optical Drive LV3504Z FXT008Q SCSI CdRom Device
    SMART Hard Disks Status OK

    Partitions:
    C: (NTFS) 29998 MB (14871 MB free)
    D: (FAT32) 19990 MB (1190 MB free)
    E: (FAT32) 12986 MB (624 MB free)
    F: (FAT32) 9988 MB (342 MB free)
    G: (FAT32) 3312 MB (1465 MB free)
    Total Size 74.5 GB (18.1 GB free)

    Input:
    Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
    Mouse HID-compliant mouse

    Network:
    Primary IP Address 127.0.0.1
    Primary MAC Address 00-15-F2-49-86-A8
    Network Adapter ULi PCI Fast Ethernet Controller

    Peripherals:
    Printer Microsoft Office Document Image Writer
    USB1 Controller ULi/ALi M5237 USB Open Host Controller
    USB1 Controller ULi/ALi M5237 USB Open Host Controller
    USB1 Controller ULi/ALi M5237 USB Open Host Controller
    USB2 Controller ULi/ALi M5273 USB 2.0 Host Controller
    USB Device USB Human Interface Device
    USB Device USB Mass Storage Device

    DMI:
    DMI BIOS Vendor American Megatrends Inc.
    DMI BIOS Version 0602
    DMI System Manufacturer System manufacturer
    DMI System Product System Product Name
    DMI System Version System Version
    DMI System Serial Number System Serial Number
    DMI System UUID 10560D04-4355DA11-BCF1CA1C-E94CDA17
    DMI Motherboard Manufacturer ASUSTeK Computer INC.
    DMI Motherboard Product P5RD1-VM
    DMI Motherboard Version Rev 1.xx
    DMI Motherboard Serial Number MB-1234567890
    DMI Chassis Manufacturer Chassis Manufacture
    DMI Chassis Version Chassis Version
    DMI Chassis Serial Number Chassis Serial Number
    DMI Chassis Asset Tag Asset-1234567890
    DMI Chassis Type Desktop Case
    DMI Total / Free Memory Sockets 2 / 1

    i would like to know why can't i load pc linux os on my home pc? is it because of my system configuration or do i need to upgrade my home pc? pliz help out
     
  2. coolpcguy

    coolpcguy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    what do ya mean when ya say "can't load pc linux os?" What're the error messages.. Your pc config is fine., but I suggest a RAM upgrade to 256 atleast, 512MB would be great
     
  3. kungfu

    kungfu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    ok,thanks a lot for the suggestion,even i was thinking of upgrading my ram.Anyway let me try once again with 512mb ram and incase if it shows me an error or can't load linux (either pclinux or mandriva ) then you know where i am coming?
    straight to you, ok lol cool guy(y)
     
  4. coolpcguy

    coolpcguy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    @kungfu, you're welcome kungfu, anytime..
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537890

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice