1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unable to log in, "domain not available"

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Trappestine, Mar 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Trappestine

    Trappestine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Hello, I've had a problem on my laptop (the computer I use mainly) since yesterday after I was cleaning out some space on the hard drive. I uninstalled a couple of programs (games) and deleted some of my documents and pictures to make a bit of space. However, when I restarted soon after, I got the error,

    "The system cannot log you on now because the domain <Domain Name> is unavailable."

    I usually use this domain to log on from home and at school, and this has never happened to me before. The only other program I uninstalled was ZoneLabs Personal Firewall, which was my addition to the computer, and not the school's addition (it is a school-issued laptop) so I don't think it would have messed with anything in the registry.

    The laptop is a HP tc4400 tablet laptop running on Windows XP Pro Tablet Edition with SP2.

    Is there any way I can fix this error without reinstalling Windows or anything drastic? I have a lot of work and notes on here that would make it very difficult for me to do well on exams if they were lost. :p

    (Just FYI: I'm a bit of a beginner when it comes to computers, but I know the basics.)

    EDIT: I was also having an error with IE where it could not access any webpage, which was messing with the games I chose to uninstall (Maplestory and Ragnarok Online), although IE was able to work fine when I used it in Safe Mode - previous to the aforementioned error. I'm not sure, but it may have had something to do with it.
     
  2. Trappestine

    Trappestine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Bump! Sorry for the doublepost.. but I need help. :(
     
  3. cmw2010

    cmw2010

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Are you logging on to the local machine or trying to logon to the domain?
     
  4. Trappestine

    Trappestine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Trying to log onto the domain. It's very odd because usually it works regardless of where I am.

    Anything I can do to fix it? :(

    Also, I can't log onto the local machine because I was only provided with a network username and password when I got the laptop, the school did not issue me the credentials to get onto the local machine.
     
  5. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    Some where along the line of un-installing and cleaning an important file that is used by the networking done got deleted. The best suggestion I would have is to contact the school IT department and have them re-install the necessary networking components and settings for you. I suggest this because you are using Windows XP Pro Tablet Edition with SP2 and I am not sure how the fix for redoing the networking will work with this setup. Also have the Windows XP Pro software that installed this OS available.
     
  6. JustJudy

    JustJudy

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10,910
    Usually when I have gotten that message it's because the computer name is different than the default domain name in registry editor. You can check and see if that it:
    Go to the properties of My Computer and click the computer name tab. Don't close it.
    Go to Run, type regedit, click OK. Go to hkey_local_Machine, software, microsoft, windowsnt, current version, Winlogon (open this). On the right look at DefaultDomainName and AltDefaultDomainName and make sure that they are exactly the same as the computer name (caps and all). You will probably have to login using workstation only if that's available....

    Good luck!
     
  7. Trappestine

    Trappestine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    I'm sure that would solve the problem if I was able to login.. but I don't have the Workstation Only option. :(
     
  8. Trappestine

    Trappestine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Okay, I think I'll have to go with ozrom1e's suggestion for now..

    But just for the sake of curiosity, what is the network fix you're referring to?

    Thanks :D
     
  9. Trappestine

    Trappestine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Anybody? :(
     
  10. JustJudy

    JustJudy

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10,910
    I am a tech support specialist for our school district. I would hope if someone had a problem with one of the laptops that our school gives them to use that they would contact me so I can check it out and fix the problem for them. That would be my suggestion to you. Good luck!

    Judy
     
  11. hwallace

    hwallace

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    i am having the same problem!! i have a laptop that i kept when the company i worked for went bankrupt. i have been using fine for the past year, but all of the sudden, the domain is unavailable when i try to logon??? i can't logon at all and have no idea what to do. i have windows xp professional and am using a sony varo notebook. does anyone have any suggestions? i am lost without this computer!!!!
     
  12. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    You need to logon to a local machine administrator account and tell Windows it is no longer a member of that domain. If you don't know a local machine administrator password, we can't help further.
     
  13. hwallace

    hwallace

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Wow, thanks so much. I was able to contact our old IT guy and he remembered it. What luck. Now how do I, as the local admin, tell my computer it is no longer a memeber of that domain?

    I see that i can access all my old files using this local admin password, but it's probably unwise to work like this. I wouldn't want to really mess things up! How can I get my old desk top etc back and work in a user mode vs admin mode? Will changing the domain of my old user do it?

    Sorry, you're dealing with a rookie!
     
  14. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You can't get the old desktop and settings back. They're tied to the domain account which doesn't exist anymore (in a way that you can log into it). Back up data from that account, put the computer in a workgroup, and create a local account to use.
     
  15. sunmooncity

    sunmooncity

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    hi guys, i am new to the forum, i encountered similar problem in my laptop.

    My collegue do have a profile created in my laptop, no problem login to domain from my laptop previously. now he is not able to login domain from my laptop anymore, but no problem for me.

    any idea why?

    thank you
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/551102

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice