Unable to Login....

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Chans21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
14
I have a refurbished Dell Windows 98 Second Edition that I just received today and was able to sign on fully when I first got it, then I changed my settings so I would have to login every time I restarted my computer. So when I restarted my computer this message appeared , " The system could not log you on. Make sure your user name and domain name are correct, then type your password again. Letters in password must be typed using the correct case. Make sure that caps lock is not accidentally on." So When I click "ok" and re-type my password making sure to capitalize the right letters the same message appears, I don't know what to do..... please help!:confused:
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
Do you see 3 lines at the login Window? If so, change the third line to be the name of the computer not the workgroup or domain name. Then enter your username and password.
 

Chans21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
14
I only have two lines, the top says user the bottom says password, anything else I can do?
 

Chans21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
14
It won't allow me to click on cancel the only buttons I can click are "ok"/"Shutdown"/"Options"
 
Joined
May 18, 2007
Messages
1,759
Have you set a Bios password by any chance?

Is this the Windows logon prompt or a Dell logon prompt?

Zee
 

Chans21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
14
I windows & I'm unsure what a BIOS or whatever is, or how to set one??
 
Joined
May 18, 2007
Messages
1,759
If you don't know how to set a Bios password, I'm almost sure you didn't. That's good news.

What we can try is deleting all password/profiles from DOS.

Do you want to do that? Do you have a boot/startup floppy?

Zee
 
Joined
May 18, 2007
Messages
1,759
I will suppose your NO was to the boot floppy question.

You will need a working PC with a floppy drive and internet access.

Download this file:

http://files.frashii.com/~bootdisk/newjersey/boot98se.exe

Put a freshly formatted floppy in the drive and double-click the "boot98se.exe" file you downloaded. This will start the process of creating a boot floppy for Win98SE.

When the process finishes, put that floppy in the drive of your Win98SE system and power-up.

When asked, select without CD-ROM support.

At the A:\ prompt type:

DEL C:\WINDOWS\*.PWL

Press Enter and the deletion should be successful.

Take the boot floppy out of the drive and restart the PC.

When the logon prompt reappears, DON'T type anything just press Enter.

This should allow you to start Windows in the default mode, i.e., without any changes you made to the desktop, if you made any, but fully functional.

Be aware that Windows will start in auto-logon (no username/password).

If you want to use profiles you will need to recreate them.

Good luck.

Zee
 

Chans21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
14
I found a boot disk, but there is no where on my computer to insert it...
 
Joined
May 18, 2007
Messages
1,759
At startup try tapping F8 or pressing CTRL and keeping it pressed until the start menu appears.

Select Command Prompt and proceed.

It should boot to a C:\ prompt.

If you manage that, type:

CD WINDOWS (press Enter)

Your prompt should read C:\Windows, correct?

Now type

DEL *.PWL (press Enter)

Restart the PC and follow the instructions from: "When the logon prompt appears..."

Good luck.

Zee
 

Chans21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
14
When the F8 sscreen appeared my only option close to command prompt was safe mode command propmt, so when i clicked it it asked what system i wanted to use and gave me the windows as my only choice, when it loaded the same message came up and the ctrl button didn't work... sorry to be such a pain
 

Chans21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
14
This is the screen options i get when i hit F8 Safe mode/safe mode with networking/safe mode wth command prompt/enable boot logging/enable VGA mode/last known Good configuration/ Directory services restore mode(Windows 2000 domain controllers only)/Debugginf mode/Boot normally/Return to OS choices menu
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top