1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unable to Login....

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Chans21, Jul 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chans21

    Chans21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    I have a refurbished Dell Windows 98 Second Edition that I just received today and was able to sign on fully when I first got it, then I changed my settings so I would have to login every time I restarted my computer. So when I restarted my computer this message appeared , " The system could not log you on. Make sure your user name and domain name are correct, then type your password again. Letters in password must be typed using the correct case. Make sure that caps lock is not accidentally on." So When I click "ok" and re-type my password making sure to capitalize the right letters the same message appears, I don't know what to do..... please help!:confused:
     
  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Do you see 3 lines at the login Window? If so, change the third line to be the name of the computer not the workgroup or domain name. Then enter your username and password.
     
  3. Chans21

    Chans21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    I only have two lines, the top says user the bottom says password, anything else I can do?
     
  4. Blue Zee

    Blue Zee

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,759
    Click Cancel and post back.
     
  5. Chans21

    Chans21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    It won't allow me to click on cancel the only buttons I can click are "ok"/"Shutdown"/"Options"
     
  6. Blue Zee

    Blue Zee

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,759
    Have you set a Bios password by any chance?

    Is this the Windows logon prompt or a Dell logon prompt?

    Zee
     
  7. Chans21

    Chans21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    I windows & I'm unsure what a BIOS or whatever is, or how to set one??
     
  8. Blue Zee

    Blue Zee

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,759
    If you don't know how to set a Bios password, I'm almost sure you didn't. That's good news.

    What we can try is deleting all password/profiles from DOS.

    Do you want to do that? Do you have a boot/startup floppy?

    Zee
     
  9. Chans21

    Chans21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    No I don't think so
     
  10. Blue Zee

    Blue Zee

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,759
    I will suppose your NO was to the boot floppy question.

    You will need a working PC with a floppy drive and internet access.

    Download this file:

    http://files.frashii.com/~bootdisk/newjersey/boot98se.exe

    Put a freshly formatted floppy in the drive and double-click the "boot98se.exe" file you downloaded. This will start the process of creating a boot floppy for Win98SE.

    When the process finishes, put that floppy in the drive of your Win98SE system and power-up.

    When asked, select without CD-ROM support.

    At the A:\ prompt type:

    DEL C:\WINDOWS\*.PWL

    Press Enter and the deletion should be successful.

    Take the boot floppy out of the drive and restart the PC.

    When the logon prompt reappears, DON'T type anything just press Enter.

    This should allow you to start Windows in the default mode, i.e., without any changes you made to the desktop, if you made any, but fully functional.

    Be aware that Windows will start in auto-logon (no username/password).

    If you want to use profiles you will need to recreate them.

    Good luck.

    Zee
     
  11. Chans21

    Chans21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    I found a boot disk, but there is no where on my computer to insert it...
     
  12. Blue Zee

    Blue Zee

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,759
    At startup try tapping F8 or pressing CTRL and keeping it pressed until the start menu appears.

    Select Command Prompt and proceed.

    It should boot to a C:\ prompt.

    If you manage that, type:

    CD WINDOWS (press Enter)

    Your prompt should read C:\Windows, correct?

    Now type

    DEL *.PWL (press Enter)

    Restart the PC and follow the instructions from: "When the logon prompt appears..."

    Good luck.

    Zee
     
  13. Chans21

    Chans21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    When the F8 sscreen appeared my only option close to command prompt was safe mode command propmt, so when i clicked it it asked what system i wanted to use and gave me the windows as my only choice, when it loaded the same message came up and the ctrl button didn't work... sorry to be such a pain
     
  14. Chans21

    Chans21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    This is the screen options i get when i hit F8 Safe mode/safe mode with networking/safe mode wth command prompt/enable boot logging/enable VGA mode/last known Good configuration/ Directory services restore mode(Windows 2000 domain controllers only)/Debugginf mode/Boot normally/Return to OS choices menu
     
  15. Blue Zee

    Blue Zee

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,759
    To be honest I don't know how to force a Dell to boot to a command prompt, I have looked around and couldn't yet find a solution. I probably need to dig deeper.

    But you can try a bootable Win98 CD:

    http://www.bootdisks.us/windows-98/13/windows-98-bootable-cd-images.html

    If you manager to burn one and start the PC with it, just type:

    DEL C:\WINDOWS\*.PWL

    Press Enter and ...

    Follow up as explained.

    Good luck, again!

    Listening.

    Zee
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/591175

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice