1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

unable to open exe from explorer but can from cmd prompt?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by AshGreen, Jan 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AshGreen

    AshGreen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Hello,

    As stated one of our customers has some windows based software (Sage Line 100 and Telemagic to be precise) which is run from a shortcut on the desktop mapped to a network share with the exe located within.

    however whenever you run either of these shortcuts or even if you navigate directly to the file you get the error
    "Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item"

    however the users in question have full local rights and full control over the files on the server inc the exe. As they are part of the USERs group which have full control. The Administrator has no problem in getting this file to run

    now the confusing part, from the cmd prompt the file can be accessed. So creating a batch file solves the issue. However this being more of a work around than a solution.

    There is no group policies that are effecting this as no other users are struggling. Maybe there is a local policy in effect but i have no idea where to look.

    Any ideas would be ace?

    Thanks

    Ash
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. sporg

    sporg

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Hi there,

    The user group that has access. Do they have full access in both the share and security tabs ?
     
  4. AshGreen

    AshGreen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    yes, the users have full control over the share and the exe itself.
    thank you Gary for your quick response :)
     
  5. sporg

    sporg

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Hi there,

    The shortcuts are they using unc (\\server\share\file.exe) path or accessing the share through a mapped drive ?

    He he no problem just hope I come up with an idea that works lol.
     
  6. AshGreen

    AshGreen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    To the best of my knowledge away from site, they are mapped through a network drive. ie s:\APPS\SAGE\SOVERIGN\Line100w.exe if i remember correctly!
     
  7. AshGreen

    AshGreen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    forgot to add, even if you browse directly to the file from the UNC path from a run command, still nothing
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/676854