Unable to open or install certain older software

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dale000001

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
14
I'm using Windows XP on my laptop:

I just tried to open some previously installed software and got the error message listed below. I have tried installing certain older software and also get the same error messsage. I have opened these software items before, but am unable to do so now. Here is the error message:

16 bit Windows Subsystem: System32/Autoexec.nt. The system file is not suitable for running Ms-Dos and Windows applications.

Any helpful (hopefully simple) ideas?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
96
I did read something like that one time before.
I think it was something with a corrupted Autoexec.nt.
Try to fix that file.
 

dale000001

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
14
Thanks. That link says "Insert the CD into the CD drive or DVD drive" as step #1. Does that mean the XP install cd that came with my machine?
 

dale000001

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
14
[ my cd drive is "D"]....

Okay, after typing cmd a box opens with the prompt
"C:documents and settings/user/dale"

The Microsoft instructions say to type-
expand CD-ROM Drive Letter:\i386\ and so forth.

I assume I'm supposed to type: expand D:\i386\etc....

I keep getting the message: no destination specified for: d:i386\....
What am I doing wrong? Again, my install XP cd is in the "D" drive.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
96
As an example, write:
expand D:\i386\...\Autoexec.nt_ c:\autoexec.nt
expand original location destination

see, what was wrong?
The computer can't know where you want that file, if you don't write the destination.

Hopefuly it did help you. :D
 

bearone2

Banned
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
5,809
did you upgrade to xp and select ntfs file system, if so it won't read the old dos/fat32 programs.
 

dale000001

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
14
<<As an example, write:
expand D:\i386\...\Autoexec.nt_ c:\autoexec.nt>>


That's exactly what I typed in before as per the Microsoft instructions, but I am still getting that message. Perhaps the prompt is wrong? Should it be the "D" drive or "C" drive prompt, rather than "C:documents and settings/user/dale:"

I'll try this again Sunday morning and let you know what happens. Maybe I have a space or letter wrong somewhere.
 

bearone2

Banned
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
5,809
dale000001 said:
My laptop has XP already on it as its system--no need to upgrade it.
did the old programs ever work? did you run them in compatibility mode? :cool:
 

dale000001

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
14
Yep, the older programs worked before, but I must have did something because they don't work now and XP won't allow me to install them now. I'm going to try the Microsoft solution again, posted above, and let you know what happens.

Dale
 

dale000001

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
14
All right, here's the latest:

At the "C:documents and settings/user/dale" prompt in the cmd box I typed:

expand D:\i386\config.nt_C:\windows\system32\config.nt

as Microsoft and the other posts suggested. It doesn't work. Should I be adding anything to the end of 'config.nt'? I've tried several things.


Puters and me don't get along :mad:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top