1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unable to open or install certain older software

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by dale000001, Sep 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dale000001

    dale000001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    I'm using Windows XP on my laptop:

    I just tried to open some previously installed software and got the error message listed below. I have tried installing certain older software and also get the same error messsage. I have opened these software items before, but am unable to do so now. Here is the error message:

    16 bit Windows Subsystem: System32/Autoexec.nt. The system file is not suitable for running Ms-Dos and Windows applications.

    Any helpful (hopefully simple) ideas?
     
  2. H4N$L!

    H4N$L!

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    I did read something like that one time before.
    I think it was something with a corrupted Autoexec.nt.
    Try to fix that file.
     
  3. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
  4. dale000001

    dale000001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks. That link says "Insert the CD into the CD drive or DVD drive" as step #1. Does that mean the XP install cd that came with my machine?
     
  5. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    Yep XP Install CD
     
  6. dale000001

    dale000001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    [ my cd drive is "D"]....

    Okay, after typing cmd a box opens with the prompt
    "C:documents and settings/user/dale"

    The Microsoft instructions say to type-
    expand CD-ROM Drive Letter:\i386\ and so forth.

    I assume I'm supposed to type: expand D:\i386\etc....

    I keep getting the message: no destination specified for: d:i386\....
    What am I doing wrong? Again, my install XP cd is in the "D" drive.
     
  7. H4N$L!

    H4N$L!

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    As an example, write:
    expand D:\i386\...\Autoexec.nt_ c:\autoexec.nt
    expand original location destination

    see, what was wrong?
    The computer can't know where you want that file, if you don't write the destination.

    Hopefuly it did help you. :D
     
  8. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    did you upgrade to xp and select ntfs file system, if so it won't read the old dos/fat32 programs.
     
  9. dale000001

    dale000001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    My laptop has XP already on it as its system--no need to upgrade it.
     
  10. dale000001

    dale000001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    <<As an example, write:
    expand D:\i386\...\Autoexec.nt_ c:\autoexec.nt>>


    That's exactly what I typed in before as per the Microsoft instructions, but I am still getting that message. Perhaps the prompt is wrong? Should it be the "D" drive or "C" drive prompt, rather than "C:documents and settings/user/dale:"

    I'll try this again Sunday morning and let you know what happens. Maybe I have a space or letter wrong somewhere.
     
  11. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    did the old programs ever work? did you run them in compatibility mode? :cool:
     
  12. dale000001

    dale000001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Yep, the older programs worked before, but I must have did something because they don't work now and XP won't allow me to install them now. I'm going to try the Microsoft solution again, posted above, and let you know what happens.

    Dale
     
  13. dale000001

    dale000001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    All right, here's the latest:

    At the "C:documents and settings/user/dale" prompt in the cmd box I typed:

    expand D:\i386\config.nt_C:\windows\system32\config.nt

    as Microsoft and the other posts suggested. It doesn't work. Should I be adding anything to the end of 'config.nt'? I've tried several things.


    Puters and me don't get along :mad:
     
  14. mike5532g

    mike5532g

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,312
  15. dale000001

    dale000001 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks a lot; I'll let you know what happens soon enough. Dale
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Unable open install
  1. mikequest3
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    932
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/272095

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice