1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unable to print on the network printer

Discussion in 'Networking' started by pcprince, Nov 30, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pcprince

pcprince Thread Starter

Hello All,

This is my first Post on this forum and i would like to ask for help on an irritating issue of a network printer.

I am a system administrator in Thomas Cook Goa location and in one of our branch there is a shared printer on a
    particular hostname. Now here's the problem ...

All sharing ralated settings have been done in the Antivirus and firewall to which the printer is connected to.
    the other computers can ping this PC, but when i try to type \\follewed by hostname or ip address I get an error message
    saying that i do not have permissions to access the location.

The printer sharing pc was on win 7 and the other was on XP so i installed win 7 on the other pc also but still no luck...

Any advice??

Thanx in advance

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    On the host PC is the network designated Home or Work or Public?

In Network and Sharing Center - Change advanced sharing options - for the appropriate section what are the various settings?

3. pcprince

pcprince Thread Starter

I will check and revert tomorrow

4. pcprince

pcprince Thread Starter

The Network is designated as work...

5. bobthehippy

bobthehippy

Sounds like a permissions issue. Is the network a workgroup or domain? Does the user you are logged on as have permissions to view the host PC?
    Double-check the permissions under Sharing and under Security on the host PC.
    Try disabling the firewall as well.

6. pcprince

pcprince Thread Starter

Dear bob,