1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

unable to record audio in 64 bit system using 32 bit application

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by sandeepvarma, Sep 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sandeepvarma

    sandeepvarma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Guys,

    I am facing a problem when i was trying to record the audio from 64 bit system using our product(it was developed on 32 bit application) i am unable to record the audio. it was working fine in a 32 bit system. and when we change the target to 64 bit system and installed on a 64 bit system the entire application was working fine except the audio recording. as it is very important for our application i am unable to move further to release to client. Please do the needful ASAP. thanks in Advance ...
     
  2. allnodcoms

    allnodcoms

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Re-compile on 64bit?

    Danny
     
  3. Ent

    Ent Josiah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,408
    If that isn't enough, you may have to check that you're not calling an external OS function which has been depreciated in the 64 bit version of Windows.
     
  4. allnodcoms

    allnodcoms

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Or is named differently in 64bit.

    EDIT: More likely to be an addressing issue though, audio can get pretty big.

    Danny
     
  5. sandeepvarma

    sandeepvarma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Danny,

    Yes it was compiled in 64 bit and no name has been changed differently in 64 bit. we developed that product using SCSF architecture in c#. we deployed the product in 64 bit by using click once deployment and change the target platform to "x86" which is supported in 64 bit. Everything is working fine except the audio recording. Please Help me out on this
     
  6. sandeepvarma

    sandeepvarma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Josiah,
    We are not calling any external OS function. still it was not working. there was no such error like audio not supported. the recording was going well but we are not able to hear it back what we have recorded and i doubt whether the voice was recording or not..
     
  7. Ent

    Ent Josiah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,408
    How do you know the recording was going well?
    Why don't you compile a temporary version which dumps the recording to a sound file. Then you can know for sure at what point the problem is appearing.

    Also, are you sure it's an issue with a 64 bit OS? It could conceivably be any other difference between the two machines, including differences in their hardware & drivers.


    I think that what Danny meant isn't that you changed the names of functions that you're calling, but that Microsoft changed the names of the dlls, locations or functions that they make available.
     
  8. allnodcoms

    allnodcoms

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Correct... Micro$oft API's tend to be fairly verbose.

    Danny
     
  9. allnodcoms

    allnodcoms

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    You need to be a bit more diagnostic than this I'm afraid. "It's not working" doesn't really help... For example, possible solutions to this problem might include:
    • Are the speakers turned on? - Might sound stupid but it's the first thing to check.
    • Is the sound muted?
    • Has someone plugged in headphones?
    • … and so on
    Might sound stupid to say it, but these are the first things I'd check. Then:
    • Have you tried it on different machines?
    • Is your test machine fully up to date?
    • Are you using the latest version of the library?
    • Are there any similar issues raised on the forums for the library?
    You need to narrow it down to an issue with your software, so rule out everything else first.

    Danny
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1068619