1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unable to run latest version of ADOBE Flash Player

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by GIRLY1, Jun 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GIRLY1

    GIRLY1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Hi....

    I have been running Secunia Online Software Inspector every other month to make sure I am up to date with all software.

    Just ran it and it advised.

    The detected version installed on your system is 11.2.202.233 (ActiveX), however, the latest patched version released by the vendor, fixing one or more vulnerabilities, is 11.2.202.235 (ActiveX).
    I downloaded it via the Secunia site and ran it. But it did not do anything.

    I then went to the Adobe website and downloaded it from there and ran it. But again it did not do anything.

    I ran Secunia again to see if the latest version had been detected but it it still advising that the old version 11.2.202.233(ActiveX) is still there. :(

    So, I am stuck and need some help from the experts.:)

    I have run the log as advised, please see below. If you need any other info please let me now.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz, x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 6
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2045 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GS, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 224094 MB, Free - 207361 MB; D: Total - 76269 MB, Free - 75866 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0WG855
    Antivirus: Norton Internet Security, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    Are you using Internet Explorer to download it or another browser? The ActiveX version is for IE only so its best to use IE to download it.

    You can also uninstall it via Add & Remove Programs, see what Secunia reports the version as being(should be none), and then reinstall it directly from the Adobe site.

    If that fails, the run the full install from a site like this: http://www.filehippo.com/download_flashplayer_ie/

    Verify Flash version here: http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/
     
  3. GIRLY1

    GIRLY1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Hi Triple6

    Yes, I am using IE8 and used IE8 to download it.

    Just about to carry out your insructions to Uninstall it, I'd just thought I'd click on Support Info button and it says that the version installed is 11.2.202.235, which is the latest version.


    So I'm a little confused. I would have thought that it would have showed an old version(and as per Secunia) the previous version was 11.2.202.233.


    Also clicked on your verify Flash version link and it came back as:


    You have version 11,2,202,235 installed.


    Could there be something wrong with Secunia?
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    Secunia could be wrong, or just not updated to recognize the latest version of Flash. If Flash is showing the correct version at Adobe's site then I wouldn't worry about it.
     
  5. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,856
    The Secunia Online Inspector does make mistakes because it identifies my XP Home computer as XP Professional, but its never got program version details wrong (for me at least).

    As long as you haven't still got an older version installed you should be OK. If you wanted to be 110% sure, you could run the official Adobe uninstaller (if you haven't already done so) to make sure all the old version has gone, but then you'd have to reinstall!;http://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player/kb/uninstall-flash-player-windows.html
     
  6. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,587
    It could be the previous .ocx file wasn't deleted during the update (perhaps Flash was in use at the time). Navigate to this folder:

    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Flash

    Open the Flash folder and you should only have one .ocx file, which is this file (the current one):

    Flash32_11_2_202_235.ocx

    If you have another .ocx file (Flash32_11_2_202_233.ocx) then delete it and reboot the machine.
     
  7. GIRLY1

    GIRLY1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Triple6, TOGG

    Thankyou for your assistance. I have done what Cookiegal advised which has proven to be the cause of the problem.
    I have rebooted and re-run Secunia which no longer advises it is an issue.(y)

    Triple6, TOGG and Cookiegal, thankyou. I appreciate you taking the time to help in this matter.

    Regards
    Girly1
     
  8. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,587
    You're welcome GIRLY1. I'm glad that sorted it out. :)
     
  9. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,587
    In doing more research for another thread, I see that the latest version of Adobe Flash is actually 11.3.300.257 so you really should update to that version. I don't know why Secunia is not alerting to this.

    http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

    When running the installer be sure that all other windows are closed. Then you'll need to reboot to complete the installation.
     
  10. GIRLY1

    GIRLY1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Hi Cookiegal

    I have done as advised. Thankyou for being so thorough(y).

    I am a little concerned that Secunia did not pick up on this.
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,587
    From what I was able to find, it appears it may not alert as long as the version installed is considered secure. In other words, if updates do not patch any known security vulernabilities then you may not be notified of a later version. In any event, I think it's best to have the latest one. :)
     
  12. GIRLY1

    GIRLY1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    :cool:. Thanks again for all your help. Learn something new everyday.:)
     
  13. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,587
    You're welcome. :)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1055794

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice