1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unable to switch user accounts in Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by momo99, May 23, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. momo99

    momo99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    I am assisting a coworker who is trying to log into his home computer which has windows 7. He was not the last user to log in (and does not have the last user's password, and he is not getting the option to switch users to log in. He has tried ctrl+alt+del, Windows + L, Windows +right arrow+ right arrow W, Alt+ F4. Any other tricks? Thank you,
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    76,173
    We don't provide help here with a password-protected computer because we have no way of confirming the real intent of the person who's trying to access it.

    -------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz Mark

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    85,345
    Hello and welcome to TSG!!

    If this person has an established account on the PC, he/she can power off the system (press the power button for 5-7 seconds) if the option to power down is not available. Upon powering back up, they can log in with their credentials.
     
  5. momo99

    momo99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you! We tried that as well and can't get the switch accounts option to appear.
     
  6. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz Mark

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    85,345
    What do you get?
     
  7. momo99

    momo99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Just the login screen with the last user's log in and no option to switch users. He is set up as a user on the computer
     
  8. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz Mark

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    85,345
    You are sure it powered completely down, not just put to sleep and woke back up? (You must hold the power button for 5-7 seconds for it to completely power down.) You saw the start-up process, with the Windows logo coming together in its pattern, etc.?
    Is this computer on a domain? Do you have to hit <Ctrl><Alt><Del> to log in?
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    63,350
    As stated we cannot assist with password here - please re-read the rules
    https://forums.techguy.org/help/rules/
     
  10. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    72,855
    I'm going to re-open this with a couple questions; is this a work computer, as it appears that this is domain related (i.e., a user was on a pc that was subsequently locked, and while it can be powered off and on again, that previous user would lose all unsaved data), and if it is work rig, have you contacted your local IT department?

    thanks,

    v
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1171753