1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

New Unable to update Windows anymore, Window Defender vanished

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Uchied, Dec 6, 2019.

1. Uchied

Uchied Thread Starter

Hello,

I've been having small issues with my laptop for a while now, but a few months ago it started getting worst, especially when Windows Defender stopped working. I decided to start using Avast Premium at first, then IOBits 's Advanced System Care, and it worked well for a few weeks before starting to fail again. My laptop never crashed but I'm afraid that it eventually will. Winscomm is no longer spotted when my laptop boots on, and I'm unable to Update Windows, plus defender is still gone.

I'm not really good with computers, and I've tried many hazardous things, to no avail. Is there anything I should do? Is my laptop just filled to the brim with malwares?

I did notice that upon using SysInfo, it said I had no Antivirus, is IOBits not considered an Antivirus?
    Thanks in advance
    ________
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Famille, 64 bit, Build 17134, Installed 20180530050225.000000+060
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6300HQ CPU @ 2.30GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 94 Stepping 3, CPU Count: 4
    Total Physical RAM: 6 GB
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 530, 1024 MB
    Hard Drives: C: 917 GB (289 GB Free); D: 13 GB (1 GB Free);
    Motherboard: HP 8257, ver 82.31, s/n PFYLQ058J680LA
    System: Insyde, ver HPQOEM - 0, s/n 5CD71167NH
    Antivirus: None

2. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    You appear to have this HP OMEN 15-ax052nf Notebook PC - which was purchased in July 2017 and came with Windows 10 Home 64-bit.
    Is that correct?