unable to view video streams

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kamau rono

Thread Starter
Joined
May 11, 2004
Messages
20
I have installed Adobe Flash Player 9. when I attempt to view news or sports video on the internet multimedia player I get an error message; there is no input plugin to handle this location

I appreciate any help, thanks
 

kamau rono

Thread Starter
Joined
May 11, 2004
Messages
20
I checked the installations, flashplayer is in my home directory. opened and unpacked the files to my HOME directory. I checked the location after completing installation, file are in location as stated by installation program
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
297
well yeah, id only just installed ubuntu, had installed wubi previously but had only used it for surfing hadnt really done alot with it.
So when installed ubuntu on my media tower and couldnt get a dvd to play, when asked for help the advice I was given on the ubuntu forums just went way over my head to be honest, posted on here and someone gave me the link installed getautomatix and it got what I wanted , its a must for newbies just to get the basics going. The problem is us newbies have been so entrenched in windows that basically does everything for you, it comes as a bit of a shock when you have to actually find the answer yourself. Im loving ubuntu at the mo and do laugh at myself when using windows and go to do something that I would do in ubuntu. I love it for the fact that its virtually virus free and feel more secure. It rescued my media pc from the ntldr issue in windows installed it and everything is fine now. Dad is well gutted as he gave me the tower and said it didnt work.:D :D :D :D :D
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
650
Sounds great!

When I get back on Windows machines (occasionally to convert friends) i always type 'ifconfig' and 'ls' to no avail. Glad everything's solved! :)!
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
297
so am I was at the end of my tether that morning I can tell you media tower+window=smashed up machine was nearly going to happen
 

kamau rono

Thread Starter
Joined
May 11, 2004
Messages
20
I downloaded automatix but had problems getting it too install. I have decide I need more experience with Debian/Linux , learning the shell and the use of script before installing packages. I'm getting stuck with fundamentals.
Thanks for your help
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top