1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unbearably Slow Internet.

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Gavlar, May 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gavlar

    Gavlar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Recently after downloading some infected dll mods for a game I have been experiencing extremely slow internet speeds.

    Speedtest.net shows 0.3mbits per second.....

    After running Avira (found and removed a few problems) and Malwarebytes (found nothing) I still have slow internet.

    Im presuming this is due to the infection.

    Any help much appreciated as I really can't bear this speed...

    Thanks again in advance,
    Gavin
     
  2. Gavlar

    Gavlar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    bump
    Ill go ahead and post a hijackthis log then
     
  3. Gavlar

    Gavlar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Here (see attached)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,451
    First Name:
    Derek
  5. Gavlar

    Gavlar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    -Cache cleared.
    -The logs are attached.

    Thanks for your help. I would seem that it is not only my internet which is particularly slow; the OS feel generally considerably slower. Do you need any more information??

    Thanks again,
    Gavin
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Gavlar

    Gavlar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    bump please.
     
  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,451
    First Name:
    Derek
    there is NO need to bump when you are receiving help

    I ALWAYS get back to you as soon as I can but I am NOT online 24/7
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,451
    First Name:
    Derek
    Delete any existing version of ComboFix you have sitting on your desktop
    Please read and follow all these instructions very carefully

    Download ComboFix from Here to your Desktop.

    **Note: It is important that it is saved directly to your desktop and run from the desktop and not any other folder on your computer**
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    1. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.

    • Very Important! Temporarily disable your anti-virus and anti-malware real-time protection and any script blocking components of them or your firewall before performing a scan. They can interfere with ComboFix or remove some of its embedded files which may cause "unpredictable results" or stop combofix running at all
    • Click on THIS LINK to see instructions on how to temporarily disable many security programs while running combofix. The list does not cover every program. If yours is not listed and you don't know how to disable it, please ask.
    • Remember to re enable the protection again after combofix has finished
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    2. Close any open browsers and any other programs you might have running
    Double click on combofix.exe & follow the prompts.​
    If you are using windows XP It might display a pop up saying that "Recovery console is not installed, do you want to install?"
    Please select yes & let it download the files it needs to do this
    When finished, it will produce a report for you.
    Please post the "C:\ComboFix.txt" for further review


    ****Note: Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it's running. That may cause it to stall or freeze ****

    Note: ComboFix may reset a number of Internet Explorer's settings, including making it the default browser.
    Note: Combofix prevents autorun of ALL CDs, floppies and USB devices to assist with malware removal & increase security. If this is an issue or makes it difficult for you -- please tell us when you reply. Read HERE why we disable autoruns

    Please do not install any new programs or update anything (always allow your antivirus/antispyware to update) unless told to do so while we are fixing your problem. If combofix alerts to a new version and offers to update, please let it. It is essential we always use the latest version.
     
  9. Gavlar

    Gavlar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Oops, only just found out you'd replied; my email notification seems to have gone wrong.

    Anyway, see attached the log.
     

    Attached Files:

    • log.txt
      File size:
      34 KB
      Views:
      3
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,451
    First Name:
    Derek
    * Run Kaspersky online virus scan Kaspersky Online Scanner.

    After the updates have downloaded, click on the "Scan Settings" button.
    select the (b)"Spyware, Adware, Dialers and other potentially dangerous programs" for the scan.
    Under "Please select a target to scan", click "My Computer".
    When the scan is finished, Save the results from the scan!

    Note: Kavscan is a scanner only & won't fix anything but will normally find the most infected files so it's report gives us a good place to work from

    If that won't run then
    Run an online antivirus check from one of the following sites

    http://www.eset.com/online-scanner
    http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/
    http://www.bitdefender.com/scan8/ie.html
     
  11. Gavlar

    Gavlar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Ive been updating/scanning for 2hours but at the rate its progressing it looks like its going to take another 10hours.

    Ill get back to you when it finishes.
     
  12. Gavlar

    Gavlar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Ok during the scan my antivirus found and deleted a 'KIT/IDL.FN [constructor]' and a 'TR/Drop.Agent.81920 [trojan]'

    The online scan seemed to find nothing (report zipped and attached as it wont let me upload an html file).
    Honestly, the problems seems to have just sort itself out, although the bootup feels more sluggish than before. To make sure, I'll attach another hijackthis log.

    Thanks again,
    Gavin
     

    Attached Files:

  13. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,451
    First Name:
    Derek
    Download the attached CFScript.txt and save it to your desktop ( click on the link underneath this post & if you are using internet explorer when the "File download" pop up comes press SAVE and choose desktop in the list of selections in that window & press save)

    Disable any antivirus/antimalware/firewall realtime protection or script blocking in the same way you did previously before running combofix & remember to re-enable it when it has finished

    Close any open browsers
    Then drag the CFScript.txt into the ComboFix.exe as shown in the screenshot below.



    [​IMG]



    This will start ComboFix again and restore the file that was placed in quarantine Post the contents of the combofix-dequarantine.txt in your next reply .


    Note: these instructions and script were created specifically for this user. If you are not this user, do NOT follow these instructions or use this script as it could damage the workings of your system and will not fix your problem. If you have a similar problem start your own topic in the malware fixing forum
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Gavlar

    Gavlar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    See attached
     

    Attached Files:

    • log.txt
      File size:
      35.1 KB
      Views:
      3
  15. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,451
    First Name:
    Derek
    *Follow these steps to uninstall Combofix and the other tools it downloaded to remove the malware*
    * Click START then RUN
    * Now type Combofix /Uninstall in the runbox and click OK. Note the space between the X and the /U, it needs to be there.
    [​IMG]

    This will also purge the restore folder and clear any malware that has been put in there. Now Empty Recycle bin on desktop Then reboot.

    go here http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/index.php?page=3 for info on how to tighten your security settings and how to help prevent future attacks.

    and scan here http://secunia.com/software_inspector/ for out of date & vulnerable common applications on your computer and update whatever it suggests

    Then pay an urgent visit to windows update & make sure you are fully updated, that will help to plug the security holes that let these pests on in the first place
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/920886

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice