1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unending Acquiring Network Address: Please Help!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lfchockey, Oct 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lfchockey

    lfchockey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    I’ve been trying to fix this problem for the past three or four days but to no avail. I’ve scoured the Internet and find many things that seem logical but nothing works.

    Basically, I’m pretty sure that I acquired a virus/Trojan(s) somewhere along the way (Security Sphere?) and it totally messed with everything. I’m relatively confident it’s gone but not 100% sure (It wouldn’t allow me to run antivirus software and would crash it after a few minutes. Then, the next time I tried to run the software I would get a message “Windows cannot access the specified device, path or file. You may not have appropriate permissions to access them”. I’m signed in as an admin so I’m guessing the problem is that the registry keys have been messed with.

    I was able to download some more antivirus software and transfer them to this laptop and did a complete scan and a couple of flaws (Trojans) were found so I’m hoping that was the end of them.

    I tried doing a restore to a previous point, but no restore works unless I manually create one. Obviously the problem with that is that if I create one now, it reverts back to a time where the problem is still existent.

    Some things I’ve noticed and tried:
    1. In my Security Center, my Firewall is not on. I’m pretty sure it was on previously before getting the virus, I turned it off when I was having problems connecting to the Internet thinking that may be the problem and now I can’t get in to turn it back on again. When I click the “Enable” button, I get the message “We’re sorry. The Security Center could not turn on Windows Firewall… do it through the Control Panel”. The Control Panel gives me the error message “Windows Firewall settings cannot be displayed because the associated service is not running. Do you want to start the Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) Service?” and when I click “yes” eventually an error message says “Windows cannot start the Windows (ICS) service.”

    2. For quite some time my Wireless Network Connection was ‘finding’ previous wireless networks and was able to connect to them but would stall out and get stuck on ‘acquiring network address’. If I went in to view the wireless networks in the area none would pop up even though it had already connected to different ones at different times (ones that I had previously had successful connections on). I tried re-installing all drivers for the PCI modem (which in the Device Manager was listed as ‘Unknown Device’ and the network adapters but this didn’t help. In fact, now out of nowhere the Connections that were previously made but getting stuck on acquiring the network address won’t connect at all anymore. [Update: I re-installed the driver for my modem and now I’m back at the acquiring network address part. I have ‘Very Good Signal Strength’]

    3. When I go into my “Services” many of my Local services that are supposed to start automatically aren’t doing so. I’m really focussed on the Internet connection. I’ve narrowed it down (I think???) to the IPSec because many of the Services not running are dependent upon IPSec. When trying to start manually I get an “Error 10050: A socket operation encountered a dead network.” This message was being displayed even though I am connected and logged into the network. (Services that do work: Wireless Zero Configuration, DNS Client, Network Connections, Remote Access Connection Manager, Remote Procedure Call)(Services that do NOT work: IPSEC, DHCP Client, Net Logon, TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper, Routing and Remote Access(Disabled))

    4. I’ve tried downloading Winsockfix but that didn’t help.
    5. Many of the programs(antivirus software – MBAM, Avast, HijackThis, SuperAntispyware) that initially had problems because of the virus ran fine for awhile and now inexplicably stopped running (this may have been because of a system restore although it was restored to a few minutes earlier???). I downloaded Avast again just recently and did another sweep thinking that it’s possible the original malware was never properly removed but came up with nothing.


    I’m kind of at wits end figuring this out. I feel fairly confident the malware is gone but who knows.
    Basically I’m just mostly focussed with getting the Internet up and running again!

    Here is the ipconfig/all:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : blackhome
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1370 WLAN Mini-PCI Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-A4-41-A1-CD
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-22-E3-58-BD


    I am in Canada. I’m connected to various networks wirelessly throughout the day, and I know that each one has other computers connected without a problem and they all use different routers and I’ve never had a problem before.
    I know my wireless is on and working because I’m getting a signal.

    As you can see my Ethernet adapter is not connected but I don’t feel that is a problem considering I’m never hardwired into a network???

    I’m also using Windows XP SP3

    Thank you in advance
     
  2. VictoriaiiCe

    VictoriaiiCe

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    684
    Move this thread to security as well so malware professionals can review it.
     
  3. lfchockey

    lfchockey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks... will do!
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,831
    First Name:
    Terry
    40 lashes with a wet noodle for that advice. :( Only moderators and administrators can move threads, and now the OP has started a duplicate, and useless, thread. In these situations please use advice along the lines of ...

    Read Everyone MUST read this BEFORE posting for help in this forum, post the requested information here, and then click on Report at the bottom of your post and request this thread be moved to the Virus & Other Malware Removal forum.

    Bump your thread there once a day--no more often--until you get a reply. They're kinda busy over there.
     
  5. VictoriaiiCe

    VictoriaiiCe

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    684
    Sorry Terry! I was told otherwise prior. Duly noted
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,831
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you need malware removal help it will go more smoothly if you have internet access, so let's take a stab at that first.

    (from a JohnWill post)

    IP addresses of 0.0.0.0 are normally caused by one of the following.

    Diagnosis:
    1. DHCP Service not running.
    2. Duplicate IP address on the network.
    3. Bad NIC card drivers.
    4. Defective NIC hardware.

    Resolution:
    1. Check Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. The DHCP Client service should be Started and its Startup Type should be Automatic.
    2. Turn off ALL of the computers and other network connected devices, reboot the router, then restart all the computers and other network devices.
    3. Check for upgraded drivers and/or reload the Network drivers.
    4. Replace the Network Interface Card.

    There has also been at least one case where switching from using Dell WLAN to XP’s WZC resolved the issue.
     
  7. lfchockey

    lfchockey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    The DHCP service is not running.
    When I try to start it manually (it is set to automatic) I get an error that one of the dependencies is not running.
    I think I've narrowed it down to the IPSec but I don't know how to get it going.

    I saw on another forum that downloading and re-installing the service pack might fix the problem (I'm guessing because it restores registry settings) but this gave me the blue screen of death. I started in Safe Mode and then restored my system to a point I set up earlier today so, long story short, I'm back to square one again.


    [I'm not sure if this is allowed but the other forum that had almost exactly the same problem as me was http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=216205 I figured that this might help someone else at some point]
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,831
    First Name:
    Terry
    If it were me I would try SFC /SCANNOW (you may have already tried), then a Repair Install, and then a format and clean install of XP.

    OTOH the malware removal folks may know how to get this stuff working again; see post # 4 above for the link to the instructions for the information required.
     
  9. lfchockey

    lfchockey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks for your help so far TerryNet. I appreciate your hard work and I know you do this practically every day and don't receive the credit your deserve.

    So, I did the sfc/scannow (using the windows installation disc) and nothing was reported back which I'm assuming means that everything was good and nothing was changed. After a Restart of the computer the error still exists.

    I tried installing optional components from my Windows XP Pro Installation CDs in terms of Networking but nothing fixed or changed in that respect either.

    I'm almost positive it has something to do with the socket and how it is being connected to my router.
    I'm not sure exactly what the IPSec is but when I try to start it manually it gives me the error "Error 10050: A socket operation encountered a dead network."
    However, it has found the wireless network, logged on to it but no IP address is being assigned to it.

    So frustrating!
    I tried another shot at a newer version of WinsockxpFix but that didn't help either.

    I also tried your suggestionon
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,831
    First Name:
    Terry
    In case there is any doubt, here is the correct stack and WINSOCK XP fix. Some of the automatic ones are for pre-SP2 and can do as much harm as good.

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  11. lfchockey

    lfchockey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    I tried that before (and again) with no luck.

    Is it possible that the "Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection" may be the problem or at least connected in some way to the problem? Considering it is showing up as 'Media not Connected"
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,831
    First Name:
    Terry
    I think it's the paragraph that I did not see when first reading your initial post--all those AWOL services. Just the DHCP service not running is enough to give an IP of all zeros.
     
  13. lfchockey

    lfchockey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Is there any way to fix the IPSec Service. The error is 10050 which says the socket can't connect to the dead network?

    The network isn't dead, I have have several other computers on it including phones etc.

    The computer is able to connect and successfully log in.

    I tried creating a static IP address and it shows that it is connected but no pages will load.
     
  14. lfchockey

    lfchockey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    I also noticed that the IPSEC needs a TCP/IP Protocol Driver to work (one of its dependencies).
    In my services I don't currently have a TCP/IP Protocol Driver. Is this something that is standard in XP Services?
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,831
    First Name:
    Terry
    Right click on your connection in Network Connections - select Properties. If 'Internet Protocol (TP/IP)' is not installed click on Install.. and see if you can get it back.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1024433

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice