1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

unepic Gaming Lag

Discussion in 'Games' started by elbow_sock, Oct 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. elbow_sock

    elbow_sock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    i am using a toshiba satellight A210, running windows xp. and i enjoy playing League of legends. Usually when i play lol, it stays at a constant 26ish fps. but recently i have been staying at 26fps, and then it seems to need to buffer or a few seconds at 9fps. this is not just with lol, its the same kinda way with minecraft and simple internet flash games.
     
  2. fmanks

    fmanks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    has your computer got a graphics card.
    I just got one and all my games work like magic
     
  3. elbow_sock

    elbow_sock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    i do not believe so... its a laptop, but it used to work just fine and now for some reason it doesnt :S
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    if you don't have a graphics card, you wouldn't see anything... just saying... ;)

    As to laptops, they are not generally good for gaming. Do you notice any kind of high temperature from your laptop? Does it happen to all online games or does it happen with offline games too?
     
  5. fmanks

    fmanks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Yeah all computers/laptops need to have a graphics card to play games.
    Laptops usaully have an on board graphics card, but these aren't very powerful. I've got a graphics card put into a computer box and most games work without lagging.
    Really laptops should be used for stuff like researching and that kind of stuff because with games they are slow and don't have a high graphics card. I use a computer box for gaming because you can get graphics cards put in and play really fast loading non-lagging games.

    I put star wars battle front 2 on a laptop it lagged and took about 2 minutes to load each level. Sometimes the game would even crash. When i put it on a computer box with a Geforce GT 520 graphics card it works like magic. Really if you want to have heaps of games on a computer don't get a laptop. Get a computer box.
    Plus I'm not even sure you can install a graphics card on a laptop and if you can i would imagine it would be very expensive.

    Flynt
     
  6. elbow_sock

    elbow_sock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    omg! that's not the point at all. the point is it used to work and now it doesn't, and i don't know how to make it work like it used too. and it happens for offline games also.
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Try looking at your temperature with a tool like speedfan and see if your video or cpu is heating up.
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Unless it was a customized one, most if not all laptops are not upgradable.
     
  9. fmanks

    fmanks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Maybe its not working like it used too because you have saved lots of stuff to your laptop over time and now it takes a long time to load because theres so much save to the harddrive.:confused::confused::confused:;)
     
  10. elbow_sock

    elbow_sock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    i checked, and there is no overheating issues and i'm not lacking in memory because i just got a 2TB harddrive and moved a bunch of stuff to it
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Use Task Manager while running the game and see if if your CPU or RAM is being maxed out.
     
  12. elbow_sock

    elbow_sock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    yes, when i run and play the game the CPU Usage max's at 100% and only occasionally goes down to 97% ish
     
  13. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    I think that's your problem... your CPU is being used so the processing is slowed down. I would recommend closing down all non-essential programs/processes down and try again.
     
  14. elbow_sock

    elbow_sock Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    when i checked, all i have open is the game
     
  15. fmanks

    fmanks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    when you said you didn't have anything on, did you check your internet security scanner like mirosoft security essentials because they can run scans every day without you knowing.
    So you might think that you have nothing running but your game but your computer scanner might have launched an automatic scan.

    Check just in case.
    I might be wrong. I might not be.

    Flynt:cool:
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1024769