1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unidentified Network/IP Address Conflict Problem - Local Only Internet (Vista)?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by violetquinn, Oct 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. violetquinn

    violetquinn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Okay, so the laptop (a couple of years old, Acer Aspire) won't connect to the internet all of a sudden, and it appears to only have occurred since we first connected the Ipad to the same network.
    Often when we turns the laptop on (around 9 times out of 10) it says 'local only' where the internet information is, but sometimes after several times of repeatedly turning it on and off (and the router) it will finally connect. This morning however it won't at all.
    Often when trying to connect to the internet, a dialogue comes up explaining an 'IP address conflict'. the computer runs windows vista and we have tried literally everything under the sun, we have attempted to update the driver this morning, only to be told it is already the latest version.
    Don't know what to do! We have tried everything to our knowledge and more, and none of the fixes on google seem to be effective. PC World failed to do anything of any use also.
    When connected via ethernet etc. there is no problem so I am pretty sure its to do with the wireless and possibly this IP conflict.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    on the ipad are you using a fixed IP ? or letting the ipad autodetect
    on the PC are you using the same fixed IP ?


    whats the make and model of the router you have

    from the PC lets see an ipconfig /all

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. violetquinn

    violetquinn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Sorry for the delay (watched a fix on youtube, and was told to disable some IPv6 properties on the Athos driver, don't know if this will affect the command prompt results) can always revert the changes if possible. The laptop with the problem is currently connected to the internet, like I said, sometimes it will and sometimes not.

    How do I know if the Ipad is on autodetect/fixed IP or not?

    Router Info:
    Brand - Talk Talk
    Model - Huawei Echolife HG521

    Results from command prompt:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : AaronsPC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 PCI-E Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-A0-D1-AF-04-80
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 5100
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-6B-CF-B7-9A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1193:a341:66b:fa49%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 23 October 2011 13:43:10
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 24 October 2011 13:43:09
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268441322
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-C9-D7-85-00-A0-D1-AF-04-80
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{51BE5E1D-C349-469E-827E-DEC57F8A26ED}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{A26C3909-8F63-4D82-9BBB-8FEB5290B635}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    user manual here
    http://www.huaweidevice.com/worldwi...nfoId=2490&directoryId=5013&treeId=3342&tab=0

    talktalk normally set up a good dhcp range

    i dont know the ipad - but the touch - you just goto settings and you should see dhcp - set to automatic

    otherwise you could set up a fixed IP on the PC and see if that helps

    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.200
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . .primary. . . . : 8.8.8.8
    DNS Servers . . .seconday . . : 8.8.4.4

    this shows you how to set up to automatic - but you just click on manual settings and use the above numbers
    Setup to Automatically get IP and DNS

    XP
    --
    Setup to Automatically get an IP and DNS (DHCP) - for XP
    follow these instructions - if wireless - choose the wireless connection
    http://www.srikanthkoka.com/lan.html

    VISTA
    -----
    Setup to Automatically get an IP and DNS (DHCP) - for Vista
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Change-TCP-IP-settings

    WINDOWS 7
    ---------
    Setup to Automatically get an IP and DNS (DHCP) - for Windows 7
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Change-TCP-IP-settings
     
  5. violetquinn

    violetquinn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks, checking that the Ipad is on automatic firstly and then may check the other laptops/desktop that they are all on to automatically obtain IP too.
    If no problems are found, will attempt to set up the laptop with the fixed IP address that you provided, will let you know how things work.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    didint realise you had multiple devices - is it only the one laptop - that has the issue on connection or are all affected
     
  7. violetquinn

    violetquinn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    There are 6 devices in total,
    2 ipod Touchs, 2 Acers (5551 and 6935) , a Dell desktop and the Ipad.

    The problem only seemed to occur after adding the Ipad to the network, however, and only with the Acer Aspire 6935.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    strange as that was on autodhcp - so try a fixed IP and see what happens as 9/10 times should be repeatable
     
  9. violetquinn

    violetquinn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    what do you mean?
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
     
  11. violetquinn

    violetquinn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    - The Ipod (1) IP address is 192.168.1.1, Subnet: 255.255.255.0, Router: 192.168.1.1

    - The Ipad IP address is 192.168.1.3, Subnet: 255.255.255.0, Router: 192.168.1.1

    - The Ipod (2) IP address is 192.168.1.4, Subnet: 255.255.255.0, Router: 192.168.1.1

    - Acer 6935 IP address is 192.168.1.2

    Don't know if that is any help to you, I noticed that the Ipod (1) and the router have the same IP address.
    The ipods etc, appeared to all be on automatically obtain IP address, but I'm not completely certain how you check still, found the DCHP section but there was no real information other that IP address etc.

    If this is no help or not of relevance I will try the fixed IP address next.

    Also it is notable that the Ipod (1) sometimes throws other devices off the internet when in use, and causes some interference.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    ipod 1 maybe the problem - should not get the same IP as the default IP

    so that needs changing
     
  13. violetquinn

    violetquinn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    How do I go about forcibly changing the IP address of the Ipod, then? Or would it be more appropriate to post in an Apple forum?
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
  15. violetquinn

    violetquinn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Okay, so my theory is that due to the matching IP address of the router and the Ipod, the Ipod has to automatically obtain a new one, in this case, interrupting the IP address of the laptop. So if i change the IP address manually to eg. 192.168.1.6
    will it work? here is an example of the static screen I am talking about -

    http://isource.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/IMG_0069_thumb.jpg

    If not, would it then be advisable to do the fixed IP on the laptop that you provided earlier if all else fails?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1023613