unidentified network - LAN cable

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

shamsul2007

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
11
I use a notebook toshiba M300. I have a problem "unidentified network" when I use a LAN cable internet connection. But my internet connection over WiFi is good.It happen severy time I open my notebook. I use windows7.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
make and model of the router
does anything else connect by cable and work ok ?
have you tried the cable on a different PC

can we see an ipconfig /all and a device manager screen shot

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------


------------------------------------------------------------------------
Device Manager
Post back the results in device manager
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

windows key and pause Key should open to allow device manager to be seen on laptops may need to use windows key + FN key + Pause Key
if not then

Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
windows 7
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
are there any ! ? or X


post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

shamsul2007

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
11
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TOSHIBA-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040T PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-53-01-B1
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d4c7:dc7:ce79:78dd%14(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 13 Disember 2011 10:30:48 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 14 Disember 2011 10:30:48 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184557160
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-61-96-91-00-1E-68-53-01-B1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3B-3E-B9-D5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{D7378881-8F26-4DD4-9B29-50F68EC5400A}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,424
In Device Manager uninstall the ethernet; then reboot and let Windows discover the adapter and reinstall the driver.

Post another ipconfig /all after doing the following repairs ...

(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
EDIT _ TerryNet beat me to it - ignore my post and continue with TerryNet

you default gate way look wrong as it has 0.0.0.0 and also 192.168.1.1 lets see if thats in the settings

start>
control panel>
network and sharing center>
Manage network connections>
right click on the LAN connection>
Properties>
click on the internet protocol version 4 (tcp/ipv4>
properties>
can we see a screen shot - I suspect you may have an entry there - do you ?
 

shamsul2007

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
11
I'm already do "reset" on Command prompt. but "unidentified network" still happen.
please refer this pic.
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
what happened on the reset - did you get "access is denied" - can you post the results i asked for in post above
 

shamsul2007

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
11
when i'm "reset" on "command Prompt,
"netsh winsock reset catalog" = OK
"
netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log" = ok

but when this part
"
netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log" = "There's no user specified setting to be reset"

follow pic below
 

Attachments

shamsul2007

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
11
do not know what happened, but my internet connection is ok. thank you for your support.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top