1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

unidentified network - LAN cable

Discussion in 'Networking' started by shamsul2007, Dec 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shamsul2007

    shamsul2007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    I use a notebook toshiba M300. I have a problem "unidentified network" when I use a LAN cable internet connection. But my internet connection over WiFi is good.It happen severy time I open my notebook. I use windows7.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,412
    First Name:
    Wayne
    make and model of the router
    does anything else connect by cable and work ok ?
    have you tried the cable on a different PC

    can we see an ipconfig /all and a device manager screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    windows key and pause Key should open to allow device manager to be seen on laptops may need to use windows key + FN key + Pause Key
    if not then

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. shamsul2007

    shamsul2007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TOSHIBA-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040T PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-53-01-B1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d4c7:dc7:ce79:78dd%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 13 Disember 2011 10:30:48 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 14 Disember 2011 10:30:48 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184557160
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-61-96-91-00-1E-68-53-01-B1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 208.67.222.222
    208.67.220.220
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3B-3E-B9-D5
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{D7378881-8F26-4DD4-9B29-50F68EC5400A}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,826
    First Name:
    Terry
    In Device Manager uninstall the ethernet; then reboot and let Windows discover the adapter and reinstall the driver.

    Post another ipconfig /all after doing the following repairs ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,412
    First Name:
    Wayne
    EDIT _ TerryNet beat me to it - ignore my post and continue with TerryNet

    you default gate way look wrong as it has 0.0.0.0 and also 192.168.1.1 lets see if thats in the settings

    start>
    control panel>
    network and sharing center>
    Manage network connections>
    right click on the LAN connection>
    Properties>
    click on the internet protocol version 4 (tcp/ipv4>
    properties>
    can we see a screen shot - I suspect you may have an entry there - do you ?
     
  6. shamsul2007

    shamsul2007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    I'm already do "reset" on Command prompt. but "unidentified network" still happen.
    please refer this pic.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,412
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what happened on the reset - did you get "access is denied" - can you post the results i asked for in post above
     
  8. shamsul2007

    shamsul2007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    when i'm "reset" on "command Prompt,
    "netsh winsock reset catalog" = OK
    "
    netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log" = ok

    but when this part
    "
    netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log" = "There's no user specified setting to be reset"

    follow pic below
     

    Attached Files:

  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,826
    First Name:
    Terry
    A current ipconfig /all, please.
     
  10. shamsul2007

    shamsul2007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    do not know what happened, but my internet connection is ok. thank you for your support.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030834

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice