1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Unidentified Network - Limited" and "Ethernet doesn't have a valid IP configuration"

Discussion in 'Networking' started by owwned, Nov 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. owwned

    owwned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Hi everyone, this morning I turned on the PC to do the usual stuff but I could not connect to my internet with the error "Unidentified Network - Limited". After trying to troubleshoot my ethernet I get the error "Ethernet doesn't have a valid IP configuration". After troubleshooting didn't work I took to the web. I literally tried every solution I found... to no avail. This brings me to extra frustration since I only built my PC last thursday.

    System Specs: CPU; AMD A6-6400K
    MOBO: Gigabyte GA-F2A75M
    RAM: Kingston 8GB
    Storage: 2x 1tb WD Blue
    GPU; Gigabyte GTX 650
    PSU: Corsair 600w
    Optical Drive: LG GH24NS95
    Case: Corsair 200r
    Operating system: Windows 8

    IPConfig /all: (Will get when I find something to transfer over the info)
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
    that would be the next thing, or a photo of the screen

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    For windows 8

    http://www.7tutorials.com/5-ways-boot-safe-mode-windows-8-windows-81
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows-8/windows-startup-settings-including-safe-mode
    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/ss/windows-8-safe-mode.htm
     
  3. owwned

    owwned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Hi, thanks for the reply. I have already tried booting safemode with networking which didnt have any difference. I have a photo of Ipconfig /all attached.

    -Thanks

    [​IMG]
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc
     
  5. owwned

    owwned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    I am currently only using Norton since it came free with one of my parts.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it may be norton blocking , it usually only comes free for a trial period and then you have to pay for a subscription to keep norton updated

    are you planning on paying for a subscription ?

    if not then you can use MSE or Avast or other free antivirus software


    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time or even a third time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC

    https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current
    https://support.norton.com/sp/en/us...&ispid=&pvid=f-core-cur&q=Norton+Removal+Tool

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. owwned

    owwned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Hi, sorry for the delayed reply, haven't been able to connect on anything lately. Removing Norton also had no effect. I tried around 4 times.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you install windows 8.1 ?
    and did it work on 8.1 at all?
     
  9. owwned

    owwned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    It doesn't let me install windows 8.1, but it was working on windows 8 until Friday morning, then stopped.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
  11. owwned

    owwned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    The Realtek Driver didn't do anything as far as I can see.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it maybe the hardware has failed

    does the socket have any small lights beside them , green/yellow ?

    any reason why ? error message ?

    did the driver install all OK - no errors

    can you post back the version

    goto device manager and on the network adapter right click and properties - you should see driver and there version


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager

    Please Post back the results in device manager as requested below

    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.
    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, see the menu on the left hand side

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    If the above does not work then

    For Windows 8
    If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW key and the X key together.
    If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm
    Once you are in device manager then navigate to:

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices that are listed under network adapters
    are there any yellow ! ? or a X​

    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    For Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  13. owwned

    owwned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Socket has a green light beside it. Error message for Windows 8.1 was just "Unexpected error occured: #0000".

    Driver version: [​IMG]
     
  14. owwned

    owwned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    It also says that I am up to date on all networking drivers.
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
    just the green light and not a yellow light the other side of the socket -

    Green
    The LED is on when there is a link connection; otherwise, the LED is off.

    Yellow
    The LED is flashing when there is activity on the link; otherwise, the LED is off.

    not sure what else to suggest now , as you have covered everything i can think of
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1113621

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice