1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unidentified Network...Local Access Only

Discussion in 'Networking' started by caniacjim, Jan 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. caniacjim

    caniacjim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    I have an HP laptop that I connect to the internet using a wireless Linksys router. I haven't had any problems with the wireless. I connected today via ethernet to the router. I received "Unidentified network...Local access only". I then rebooted the router and modem with the same result. I then connected the modem directly to the laptop with the same result(after rebooting the modem and computer).

    Any suggestions on how to proceed?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Does it still work on wireless?

    make and exact model of the router
    make and exact model of the modem

    anything else connected to the ethernet on the router

    can you post an ipconfig /all when connected to ethernet

    {ipconfig /all}
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all

    -> Start > run {search bar in Vista} > cmd > ipconfig /all
    post back the results here


    TWO Methods to do that - if you cannot access the internet with PC, then use method 2 to copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Method ONE -------------------------------------------------------------
    start > run {search bar in Vista} > cmd > ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Method TWO -------------------------------------------------------------

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. mikey71174

    mikey71174

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    I'm guessing that you're using Vista here. For some reason, Vista has a tendency to pick up "rogue" gateway settings, therefore, it doesn't receive an IP address from a valid source. If you manually configure your settings, it should connect to the gateway, and pull an IP from a valid DHCP server.
     
  4. mikey71174

    mikey71174

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Whoops! Disregard the "pull an IP from a valid DHCP server" statement, as with manual settings, there is no DHCP.
     
  5. caniacjim

    caniacjim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    The wireless connection still works.

    Router is a Linksys WRTP54G
    Cable Modem is SB1400 Surfboard

    Nothing else is connected to the ethernet


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Jim J>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : HP-Notebook
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : nc.rr.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-6E-36-6C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b987:837d:f0bd:addc%21(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.173.220(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 352329320
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-D0-29-B1-00-1E-68-6E-36-6C

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-86-04-03-6C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nc.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E1-59-C3-0F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c78:76e:f42:945b%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.101(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 5:29:27 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 5:29:27 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 352329697
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-D0-29-B1-00-1E-68-6E-36-6C

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{632C2948-DC89-4106-9371-4532A2F6F
    623}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nc.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.nc.rr.com
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 19:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Jim J>
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    Most likely a problem with the cable, the NIC, the ethernet driver or the router LAN port.

    Also there is at least one firewall (a Norton product) that has different settings for wireless and wired and could be blocking.
     
  7. caniacjim

    caniacjim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    I reinstalled the driver, removed Norton, and changed ethernet cables. Problem still exists. Device Manager indicates the network card is working properly, but I stll get local only. Also the network connection states network controller not compatible with the network. What would be logical next step? Is there a way to truly verify card vs router?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    Don't remember ever seeing that before. Make sure that you have the latest driver for it from HP's web site.
     
  9. caniacjim

    caniacjim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    I have concluded it is associated with the NIC card not the router. I connected another computer to the router and it worked fine via ethernet. The HP website indicated if the ip address began with 169.., then to reinstall drivers from the recovery disk. It did and I did this. It still didn't work. I upgraded the driver to a later driver. Still have the problem. Next step I guess is to contact HP>
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    delete the device in device manager and then reboot - windows should detect new hardware and then point it to the driver you downloaded
    would be my next step

    Unless TerryNet has other recommendations
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    Sounds like he has already installed the initial driver and an updated one, so doubt a reinstall would now do anything. But, certainly wouldn't hurt nor take long.

    I think you've done sufficient troubleshooting to justify contacting HP.

    Is it safe to assume that the problem Vista PC is not the XP compaq you have in your computer specs?
     
  12. caniacjim

    caniacjim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    XP Compaq in my computer specs? I don't understand. The problem PC is a Vista HP notebook. I do have a Compaq laptop which has XP. This computer works fine with ethernet and wireless. One more question, why would the ethernet card be labelled #2, if you have any idea.
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    In your Computer Specifications--part of your detailed profile, that anybody can read by clicking on the computer icon by your name in any of your posts--you have "Windows XP, 1024MB ram,compaq notebook."

    I don't know what, if any, significance the "#2" has; don't know anything about those nvidia devices.
     
  14. caniacjim

    caniacjim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks. I will update my profile. I found out that the #2 is because I had unistalled and reiinstalled the card. HP had me do it and it went to #3. They had me do a "ping localhost" and the results indicate that the card is OK. Waitng now for the next step from them. I will update the thread when I get resolution.
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    ping localhost only tests the stack, which I assume is OK since your wireless internet access is OK. For a minimal test of the card you have to ping its IP address.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/891394

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice