1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

unidentified network no internet access

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Sensui, Aug 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sensui

    Sensui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    I can connect to the network but doesn't connect to the internet. I have tried a lot of ipconfig cmd's /renew said "unable to connect to dhcp server" and others didnt work all out of ideas.
     
  2. Anim8ed

    Anim8ed

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Run your computer in Safe Mode with Networking. Should let you on the internet. Download this fix. Install and run it. Then reboot. It basically resets all your networking configurations to default. It worked for me after trying everything else. The program is called WinSock XP Fix, but it's for all operating systems. Let me know if it worked.

    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/Network-Tweak/WinSockFix.shtml
     
  3. Sensui

    Sensui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks for responding so soon but it didn't work. It said registry import information not found and runtime error 53 file not found
     
  4. Phyxiis

    Phyxiis

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Try ipconfig /flushdns..? Not sure if that'll help at all but it can't really hurt.

    If other computers can connect to the internet, but not yours, then you might want to look at your adapter settings..
     
  5. Sensui

    Sensui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    I tried ipconfig /flushdns but it didn't work. What do you mean by adapter settings?
     
  6. Phyxiis

    Phyxiis

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Which OS are you running (Windows XP, Vista, 7, Mac, *nix)?
     
  7. Sensui

    Sensui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Vista
     
  8. Phyxiis

    Phyxiis

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Go to Start->CMD->Hit enter
    Type "ipconfig"->Right Click->Mark->Start at ipconfig and drag down to C:\User\username->Hit ENTER
    Press Ctrl+(and at the same time)V in the reply box.
     
  9. Anim8ed

    Anim8ed

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Question #1. Can you get on the internet in Safe Mode with Networking?
     
  10. Sensui

    Sensui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    C:\Users\Josh>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    C:\Users\Josh>
     
  11. Sensui

    Sensui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    No I can not
     
  12. Phyxiis

    Phyxiis

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Are you on WiFi or Ethernet (plugged in)?

    Did you omit anything from the IPCONFIG post?
     
  13. Sensui

    Sensui Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Wireless router and no that is everything
     
  14. Anim8ed

    Anim8ed

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Try this.. we'll keep trying something til we get you going.

    Select Start / Network.
    At top of screen, select Network and Sharing Centre.
    Sharing and Discovery - check settings:
    Network Discovery should be ON
    Network type should be Private Network, NOT public network. To change this, select Customise and, on table that appears, change locaton type to Private.
    Last, but not least, click on the X at the top of the screen between the Computer and Network icons. This will then reset the network adapter.
     
  15. Phyxiis

    Phyxiis

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    From what you posted, you shouldn't be able to connect to anything..

    It should look like this:
    Not to be an *******, but is the wireless switch enabled?..
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064648