1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unidentified network no internet access

Discussion in 'Networking' started by vlad1506, May 30, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vlad1506

    vlad1506 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    I have 2 computers XP and one Vista wired to the network XP is working fine but Vista since 3 days ago doesn't connect to Internet. It says "unidentified network" and keeping switching between Public and Private network. Every time I click Private Network it switch to Public and doesn't connect. Please help.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    how is the vista connected - wireless or cable

    can we see an xirrus screen shot and an ipconfig /all

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file to the faulty PC and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://go.pardot.com/l/66982/2015-01-26/2361i
    enter you details
    Download this file "DOWNLOAD WI-FI INSPECTOR Vx.xx "
    ( the site now appears to allow webbased emails like gmail, hotmail, outlook and yahoo now )

    There is also a xirrus gadget, But that does not have all the fuctionality "DOWNLOAD GADGET Vx.xx

    Alternative links - Use the links below
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Network-Tools/Network-Monitoring/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Inspector.shtml
    http://download.cnet.com/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Inspector/3000-18508_4-75758254.html


    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  3. vlad1506

    vlad1506 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Vista is connected with a cable. If I follow instruction how to get IPconfig / all blue screen shows for less than a second and disappeared. I don't have a chance to copy anything.


     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    blue or black ?

    and does notepad appear ?
     
  5. vlad1506

    vlad1506 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    I checked again and it's black, sorry. Notepad doesn't appear




     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try this


    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ): ​

    In the command prompt window that opens

    Type the following command
    ipconfig /all
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
     
  7. vlad1506

    vlad1506 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Bonus>ipconfig / all

    Error: unrecognized or incomplete command line.

    USAGE:
    ipconfig [/allcompartments] [/? | /all |
    /renew [adapter] | /release [adapter] |
    /renew6 [adapter] | /release6 [adapter] |
    /flushdns | /displaydns | /registerdns |
    /showclassid adapter |
    /setclassid adapter [classid] ]

    where
    adapter Connection name
    (wildcard characters * and ? allowed, see examples)

    Options:
    /? Display this help message
    /all Display full configuration information.
    /allcompartments Display information for all compartments.
    /release Release the IPv4 address for the specified adapter.
    /release6 Release the IPv6 address for the specified adapter.
    /renew Renew the IPv4 address for the specified adapter.
    /renew6 Renew the IPv6 address for the specified adapter.
    /flushdns Purges the DNS Resolver cache.
    /registerdns Refreshes all DHCP leases and re-registers DNS names
    /displaydns Display the contents of the DNS Resolver Cache.
    /showclassid Displays all the dhcp class IDs allowed for adapter.
    /setclassid Modifies the dhcp class id.

    The default is to display only the IP address, subnet mask and
    default gateway for each adapter bound to TCP/IP.

    For Release and Renew, if no adapter name is specified, then the IP address
    leases for all adapters bound to TCP/IP will be released or renewed.

    For Setclassid, if no ClassId is specified, then the ClassId is removed.

    Examples:
    > ipconfig ... Show information
    > ipconfig /all ... Show detailed information
    > ipconfig /renew ... renew all adapters
    > ipconfig /renew EL* ... renew any connection that has its
    name starting with EL
    > ipconfig /release *Con* ... release all matching connections,
    eg. "Local Area Connection 1" or
    "Local Area Connection 2"
    > ipconfig /allcompartments ... Show information about all
    compartments
    > ipconfig /allcompartments /all ... Show detailed information about all
    compartments

    C:\Users\Bonus>` 11 `
    Result for Ping google.com: Black screen is empty



     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    no space after the /

    ipconfig /all
     
  9. vlad1506

    vlad1506 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Bonus>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Bonus-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controlle
    r
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-8B-80-D9-CC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.65.20(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Bonus>





     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets try in safe mode with networking

    Safemode with networking
    with a cable connected from PC to router
    check the cable - see if there is a light on the router associated with the cable port used , also check if you have a green/yellow light on the PC LAN port (some PCs do not have any lights on the LAN port - so ignore)
    - try safemode with networking (sometimes wireless does not work with safemode )

    For other windows version, XP,Vista, W7 as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
     
  11. vlad1506

    vlad1506 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    It doesn't works. Light on the router associated with a cable port used is green



     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista - Windows 7 - Windows 8 and Windows 10

    For Windows Vista through to Windows 10
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied
    This often occurs with windows 8

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. vlad1506

    vlad1506 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    Access is denied.

    Reseting Interface, OK!
    A reboot is required to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    Access is denied.

    There's no user specified settings to be reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>



     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    heres the issue
    Access is denied.

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc
     
  15. vlad1506

    vlad1506 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    On all my computers I have Avira Antivirus Pro Suite. I never had any problem.



     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1149054

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice