1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unidentified network, using TPLink Powerline adaptor

Discussion in 'Networking' started by helenadouglas, Jul 15, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. helenadouglas

    helenadouglas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I have always connected to the internet via this powerline adaptor (http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/details/TL-PA4010.html) which is connected to my home network. Has been working smoothly for months. Yesterday the net was being unstable (intermittent disconnects) so I plugged it out and back again to reset it.

    Now it totally can't connect to the internet at all (Unidentified network + No internet access/Local Area Connection shows in my Network & Sharing Centre) and everytime I try to disable and enable Local Area Connection, this Error message pops up with "This Driver can't release to failure!!", an OK button and no other info. When I click OK it pops up again shortly after, as if my computer keeps trying to do something but failing.

    I suspect that an automatic Windows 10 update a few days ago caused this, but a system restore did not resolve the issue. I have the latest Network adapter drivers (Intel Ethernet Connection I217-V). Right now I am temporarily using a Wifi adaptor, which works but is really slow, so I'm pretty certain the issue is in how my powerline adaptor is trying to connect to the home network. I have tried an identical, new unit, which resulted in the same problem so the problem should not be related to hardware failure.

    For the record, I'm not sure if the error message is related to this issue at all, I've been getting it on startup ever since I upgraded from Win7 to Win10, but it has not caused any problems aside from being annoying so I left it. In the midst of all this I also tried the cmd ipconfig/renew + /release, so I'm not sure if that broke anything.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    This maybe inconvienant
    BUT can you take the PC next to the router and connect a cable between the PC and the router to check the cable/router port/pc port / and pc is working

    once we know the PC is working OK on a LAN connection - we an then look into the homehubs and other cable
    otherwise we are unsure if its the PC or homehub

    OR
    connect another PC/laptop - that you know works directly on the router and connect to the homehub and see if that works

    we need to confirm if its a PC / Cable or homehub issue first
     
  3. helenadouglas

    helenadouglas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for your prompt reply.

    I did the second option (connected laptop to homehub) & it works no problem.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    with the same cable as using between the home hub and the PC
    assuming it is
    then we now know its a PC issue

    What windows version is on the PC

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8/8.1 and Windows 10


    For Windows 8 or Windows 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.
    Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    Now type CMD
    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​
    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen )​
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Resetting , failed. - This error will occur with windows 10 , so ignore.
    Access is denied. - This error will occur with windows 8 and windows 10 , so ignore.
    But running TCP/IP reset still can resolve issues , even with the above errors.

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste​

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. helenadouglas

    helenadouglas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I have Windows 10 and performed all the steps required


    Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.10586]
    (c) 2015 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\WINDOWS\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Resetting Global, OK!
    Resetting Interface, OK!
    Resetting Unicast Address, OK!
    Resetting Neighbor, OK!
    Resetting Path, OK!
    Resetting , failed.
    Access is denied.

    Resetting , OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\WINDOWS\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Resetting Interface, OK!
    Resetting Neighbor, OK!
    Resetting Path, OK!
    Resetting , failed.
    Access is denied.

    Resetting , OK!
    Resetting , OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\WINDOWS\system32>
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all


    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC
    You will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.
    If you do not have another PC
    Do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries​

    For Windows 8 or Windows 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.
    Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    Now type CMD
    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. helenadouglas

    helenadouglas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Here is my ipconfig /all. I am using a Wifi adaptor on this computer to connect to internet for now:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.10586]
    (c) 2015 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\owner>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Clifford-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Hosted Network Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-90-CC-ED-6E-CC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection I217-V
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FC-AA-14-B5-4D-C1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.4.103(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : PCI GW-US54HP #5
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-90-CC-ED-6E-CD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : fd11:493:4077:1:7901:ba04:c9d1:2ccb(Preferred)
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : fd11:493:4077:1:8d0a:b2a5:6935:f1dc(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7901:ba04:c9d1:2ccb%3(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, July 15, 2016 8:31:52 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, July 16, 2016 12:32:02 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 469799116
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1C-D7-71-F1-FC-AA-14-B5-4D-C1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C685C646-372F-4C35-95EE-1132AD25840C}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.home:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\owner>
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Thats with a cable connected to the PC from the homehub

    are there any lights beside the LAN socket on the PC - older PCs had a green/yellow light newer ones do not
     
  9. helenadouglas

    helenadouglas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I am not using a LAN socket for the PC. I connect to homehub (in my living room) via a powerline adaptor (http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/details/TL-PA4010.html). Theres a green light on the CPU case where I connect the powerline adaptor. Theres green/yellow light on the powerline adaptor as well.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1174550

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice