1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

unidentified network windows 7 no network access

Discussion in 'Networking' started by missangel8, Dec 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. missangel8

    missangel8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Well I have searched and fought with this on my own long enough apparently i need help! My desktop cannot see my network. The network itslef runs fine Xbox, phones kindle and this laptop have no probles seeing nor using the network.
    I have run ipconfig /all tried reseting Tcp/IP to no avail. what else can I do?


    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 840 Processor, x64 Family 16 Model 5 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 2815 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7025 / NVIDIA nForce 630a (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM), 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 100000 MB, Free - 57089 MB; G: Total - 426882 MB, Free - 200273 MB; H: Total - 426884 MB, Free - 11964 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., M4N68T-M-V2
    Antivirus: Norton 360, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  2. missangel8

    missangel8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    ipconfig printscreens attached
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Lex.Luthor

    Lex.Luthor

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    let's do a ping test:

    press start,

    all programs,
    accessories
    highlight the command prompt and right click and select "run as administrator"

    answer yes

    in the command prompt, type ping 127.0.0.1

    Do this and post the results. Also according to the link for the ipconfig, we cannot see all of it.

    Here is a command that is commonly used:

    ipconfig /all >c:\ip.txt

    When you run this command, make sure that is it ran as an administrator as stated above for windows 7, then open your c drive directory and look for ip.txt and re-post it here.

    this should return 0% loss, if there is any loss here, then the problem is with the internal wifi radio or the lan card.

    type the ip address of the router, this would show up as the default gateway in the ipconfig.

    This should show 0% loss here - if there is a loss here then the problem is with the lan card or the connection to the router - no raido signal will also cause this.

    type ping www.yahoo.com or www.hotmail.com

    this should also show 0% loss - any loss from here might be caused from the router signal not getting through to the ISP, or that web server may be down.
     
  4. Lex.Luthor

    Lex.Luthor

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    in windows 7, is the home group setup correctly?

    is there another windows 7 that is on the network or what other type of computers are on the network?

    is the computer set to the same home group as the rest of the network?
     
  5. missangel8

    missangel8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 127.0.0.1

    Pinging 127.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Cannonfam-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-AE-C5-95-50-96
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.166.44(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
     
  6. missangel8

    missangel8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    yahoo and hotmail pings both reply wiht the could not find the host please heck the name and try again.
    I have a linksys wireless router it currently allows access for the xbox 360 a wii, a nook ereader a kindle ereader 1 hp laptop running windows 7 1 asus laptop running windows 7 and the desktop also running windows 7 that is the only pc with out connectivity when I try to connect to the home group it says my homegroup is not availible because i am not connected to the home network. Only this mysterious unidentified networkwith no internet access shows up. I have no issue connecting any of my other wireless machines to the network. including my phone. I even tried using me phone for the desktop to no avail. its not seeing the network at all.
     
  7. missangel8

    missangel8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    yes everything is on the same home group. SN all are not continuously hooked up at the same time. The desktop is the ONLY continuous link on the network. Every other machine is on the network only when its in use.
     
  8. missangel8

    missangel8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    36
  9. Lex.Luthor

    Lex.Luthor

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    have we double checked the settings in the

    Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Network and Sharing Center\Advanced sharing settings

    Check to see:

    Network discovery - on
    File and printer sharing - on
    Public folder sharing - on
    File sharing connections is 128
    password protected sharing - on
    Homegroup connections - allow windows

    and in public

    network discovery - off
    file and printer sharing - on
    public folder sharing - on
    file sharing - 128
    password protection - on
     
  10. missangel8

    missangel8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    I cant turn on network discovery for my private network.
     
  11. Lex.Luthor

    Lex.Luthor

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    263
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030696

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice