unidentified network windows 7 no network access

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

missangel8

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
36
Well I have searched and fought with this on my own long enough apparently i need help! My desktop cannot see my network. The network itslef runs fine Xbox, phones kindle and this laptop have no probles seeing nor using the network.
I have run ipconfig /all tried reseting Tcp/IP to no avail. what else can I do?


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, 32 bit
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 840 Processor, x64 Family 16 Model 5 Stepping 3
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 2815 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7025 / NVIDIA nForce 630a (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM), 256 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 100000 MB, Free - 57089 MB; G: Total - 426882 MB, Free - 200273 MB; H: Total - 426884 MB, Free - 11964 MB;
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., M4N68T-M-V2
Antivirus: Norton 360, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
263
let's do a ping test:

press start,

all programs,
accessories
highlight the command prompt and right click and select "run as administrator"

answer yes

in the command prompt, type ping 127.0.0.1

Do this and post the results. Also according to the link for the ipconfig, we cannot see all of it.

Here is a command that is commonly used:

ipconfig /all >c:\ip.txt

When you run this command, make sure that is it ran as an administrator as stated above for windows 7, then open your c drive directory and look for ip.txt and re-post it here.

this should return 0% loss, if there is any loss here, then the problem is with the internal wifi radio or the lan card.

type the ip address of the router, this would show up as the default gateway in the ipconfig.

This should show 0% loss here - if there is a loss here then the problem is with the lan card or the connection to the router - no raido signal will also cause this.

type ping www.yahoo.com or www.hotmail.com

this should also show 0% loss - any loss from here might be caused from the router signal not getting through to the ISP, or that web server may be down.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
263
in windows 7, is the home group setup correctly?

is there another windows 7 that is on the network or what other type of computers are on the network?

is the computer set to the same home group as the rest of the network?
 

missangel8

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
36
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>ping 127.0.0.1

Pinging 127.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Cannonfam-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-AE-C5-95-50-96
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.166.44(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
 

missangel8

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
36
yahoo and hotmail pings both reply wiht the could not find the host please heck the name and try again.
I have a linksys wireless router it currently allows access for the xbox 360 a wii, a nook ereader a kindle ereader 1 hp laptop running windows 7 1 asus laptop running windows 7 and the desktop also running windows 7 that is the only pc with out connectivity when I try to connect to the home group it says my homegroup is not availible because i am not connected to the home network. Only this mysterious unidentified networkwith no internet access shows up. I have no issue connecting any of my other wireless machines to the network. including my phone. I even tried using me phone for the desktop to no avail. its not seeing the network at all.
 

missangel8

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
36
yes everything is on the same home group. SN all are not continuously hooked up at the same time. The desktop is the ONLY continuous link on the network. Every other machine is on the network only when its in use.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
263
have we double checked the settings in the

Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Network and Sharing Center\Advanced sharing settings

Check to see:

Network discovery - on
File and printer sharing - on
Public folder sharing - on
File sharing connections is 128
password protected sharing - on
Homegroup connections - allow windows

and in public

network discovery - off
file and printer sharing - on
public folder sharing - on
file sharing - 128
password protection - on
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top