1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unidentified network!!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Mr_Legit, Nov 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mr_Legit

    Mr_Legit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I have a Toshiba computer my grandma gave me a few weeks ago and it says its connected to an unidentiefied network(and name of our wireless network). I've tried everything, reset modem and router, turned off IPv6 thing, and did a few Regedit solutions and still nothing!!! need help!! please
     
  2. VictoriaiiCe

    VictoriaiiCe

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    684
    Which Toshiba what model?
     
  3. Mr_Legit

    Mr_Legit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Toshiba Satellite L355D
     
  4. Mr_Legit

    Mr_Legit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    What do u what to know? the processor info?
    AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-60 2.00GHz
     
  5. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,787
    heyya Mr_Legit, I've edited the title of the thread....please remember this is a family oriented site. :)

    thanks,

    v
     
  6. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,787
    is it connecting to a wireless network?

    What OS?

    if wireless start > run > ncpa.cpl > double click on the wireless network connection > click 'view wireless networks' > remove all but the ones you want.
     
  7. Mr_Legit

    Mr_Legit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    windows vista
     
  8. Mr_Legit

    Mr_Legit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    it says its connected but wont let me use the internet
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,924
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  10. Mr_Legit

    Mr_Legit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Rosemary>IPCONFIG/ALL
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Rosemary-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
    et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-33-85-2A-7E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-63-AD-A5-B2
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.237.53(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    C:\Users\Rosemary>
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,924
    First Name:
    Terry
    The following was put together mostly by etaf with a little help from me.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Atheros AR5007EG & AR5007
    We have been seeing a lot of problems with the above adapters for about a year, mainly concerning WPA and WPA2 encryption and windows Vista.

    The adapter gets an IP configuration, and shows as connected, but communication is non-existent or sporadic.

    Log into the Router and disable the wireless security and see if you are now able to connect to the internet and surf OK.
    --- Please post back here if that
    works or does not work.


    Here are a number of possible solutions

    --- 1) In Device Manager right click on the wireless adapter and "update driver." That apparently has worked for some posters.

    --- 2) Download and install the latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site support section, as some manufactures, appear to now have a working driver available.
    Toshiba - update has worked for some PCs
    HP The latest HP Atheros driver dated Sept 2010 has fixed the issue - so check the driver date, However, that does NOT apply to all HPs / Compaqs machines
    - the poster did an online scan for driver updates on the HP website here HP Product Detection which resulted in a solution. Solved: Can't connect to internet wirelessly - Atheros AR5007 Wifi through Clear Comm - Tech Support Guy Forums

    If you can post the Make and EXACT model of your PC here, along with the windows version you have and we will see if we can find the driver and will post a link as a reply here.

    --- 3) On one occasion re-setting the router back to factory default and re-configuring the router settings has resolved the issue

    --- 4) A few posters here with the same issue have found that the driver from this site ATHEROS drivers for Microsoft Windows resolved the issue
    Threads are here
    Solved: Public Network - Access: Local Only (Please help!) - Tech Support Guy Forums
    Solved: NetGear WNDR3700 Incompatibilty W/ Atheros AR5700 - Tech Support Guy Forums
    Solved: Local connection only when connected to secured wirless - Tech Support Guy Forums
    Solved: Unidentified Network - Tech Support Guy Forums
    Unidentified Network


    I do NOT know anything about the site mentioned ATHEROS drivers for Microsoft Windows

    However, if you do decide to try the driver, Please let us know the outcome

    Direct link to the drivers are below
    You only need to click on the green download button labelled " click to download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started

    AR5007
    Vista 32 Bit
    Drivers for Atheros AR5007 and Windows Vista
    Although this driver has shown up in BSODs (Blue Screen Of Death) on Vista SP2 systems, usually conflicting with updated Vista OS drivers like netio.sys, tcpip.sys and other networking related drivers.

    AR5007EG
    Vista 32 Bit
    Drivers for Atheros AR5007EG and Windows Vista


    Assuming that after all the above the wireless still does not connect to the internet, all I can suggest is to use wireless security of WEP or to get an external USB wireless card.

    You might also bug your laptop's tech support about the problem--maybe people can put pressure on Atheros to find a fix.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. Mr_Legit

    Mr_Legit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    what would my username and password be for logging into my router? would i have this information?
     
  13. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,787
    Yes, you would.
     
  14. kristi94

    kristi94

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    try u:admin p:admin
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025367

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice