Uninstall SP2 Windows XP

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

edulinka

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
10
I did try to install SP2 RC1 and it did asked to uninstal SP beta first. I did click in Control panel/Add-remove on SP2 and this line in Add/remove dissapear without any uninstalation. Now I have no clue how I can uninstall it and install SP2 RC1
Thank you
:confused:
:mad:
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Have you tried a system restore ? If you wish to try it I would suggest frist creating a restore point for today before commencing.
 

edulinka

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
10
It where more than a week ago so I can't do this. Any other ideas.
Thank you
:mad:
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
You must have changed the restore volume settings did you ? Xp will by default hold much more than one weeks restore points.
 

edulinka

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
10
I don't remeber that I did change settings and I never use restore point. Any article to read about it? If it will not work any other ideas? I am at work right now and can't try it now.
Thank you
 

edulinka

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
10
Thank you. I will try tonight, but I don't remeber exact day of it. So I need to restore to the point before I did try to uninstall SP2 beta and try it again?
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Try to restoe to a point before you installed SP2 . If you look at the restore points
you may be able to see where you installed SP2 first.
 

edulinka

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
10
I did try to restore from all possable dates and nothing did work. Any other ideas?
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
when you installed the sp it asked you if you wanted to back up the previous installation.
if you chose no then it cannot roll back because there is nothing to go back to.
with the alpha and beta releases you cannot install one on top of the other,so you have to let it back up so that you can uninstall to install the later release
 

edulinka

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
10
Unfortunatelly I did say NO, so I can't uninstall it. My mistake. Did try to save space. :(
Any way from this cituation?

Can I try this?

____________________________________________
PSS ID Number: 830086

Article Last Modified on 12/15/2003


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The information in this article applies to:


Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP1

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Important This article contains information about modifying the registry. Before you modify the registry, make sure to back it up and make sure that you understand how to restore the registry if a problem occurs. For information about how to back up, restore, and edit the registry, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
256986 Description of the Microsoft Windows Registry

SYMPTOMS
When you visit the Microsoft Windows Update Web site and scan for available updates, you may receive the following error message:
Windows Update Error.
Windows Update has encountered an error cannot display the requested page.
Additionally, the System Properties dialog box may have two Automatic Update tabs.
CAUSE
On a Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 1 (SP1)-based computer, this problem occurs if you do either of the following actions:
You reinstall the original released version of Windows XP.
You use System Restore to restore your computer to a date before Service Pack 1 was installed.
RESOLUTION
To resolve this problem, re-install Windows XP Service Pack 1 or install any Service Pack that is later than Service Pack 1. For additional information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
322389 How to Obtain the Latest Windows XP Service Pack

WORKAROUND
Warning If you use Registry Editor incorrectly, you may cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall your operating system. Microsoft cannot guarantee that you can solve problems that result from using Registry Editor incorrectly. Use Registry Editor at your own risk.

To work around this problem, follow these steps:
Click Start, and then click Run.
In the Run dialog box, type regedit, and then click OK.
In Registry Editor, locate and then click the following registry key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Windows

In the right pane, double-click CSDVersion.
In the Edit DWORD Value dialog box, under Value data, type 0 (zero), and then click OK.
On the File menu, click Exit.
Restart your computer, and then visit the Windows Update Web site to try to update Windows again.

___________________________________________
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
you can try it,you will be no worse off as it stands you will have to reinstall
i learn't my lesson with sp1 betas ,when it first came out you could install on top all of a sudden that changed and i had to reinstall
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top