1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

uninstalling norton from windows 8?????

Discussion in 'General Security' started by civilized7, Dec 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. civilized7

    civilized7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Help please, how do i uninstall norton from my windows 8 so i can install NOD32.
     
  2. civilized7

    civilized7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    hi, I just bought a Toshiba laptop with windows 8 and Norton pre-installed ...I've tried to uninstall Norton and tried the link that nod gave to uninstall it ... I don't see it in uninstall programs any more but when I try to install NOD32 again it says its still there......help please......and windows 8 sucks.....:mad:
     
  3. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,835
    open charms bar
    select search/settings & type uninstall
    select uninstall programs & when that opens, select Norton in the list
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,835
    If you had followed Forum rules and only posted 1 topic for this, I wouldn't have wasted my time posting what I previously posted and from that post I assumed that you didn't know how to get to uninstall programs in W8
    I have merged both threads together, Stay in this thread until your problem is cured
     
  5. civilized7

    civilized7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I did that but Norton does not come up...
     
  6. civilized7

    civilized7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    but nod32 show that 2 nortons are installed ...It don't say what one there are it just says Norton 2x
     
  7. civilized7

    civilized7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    sorry I thought I was putting it in the same post as a reply my apologies...:D
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,835
  9. civilized7

    civilized7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I have tried that already and did it again right now then tried to reinstall nod32 and still get the error 2878...went through all of the stuff that eset tells me to do but it still comes up with the error and shows Norton still installed
     
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,835
    reboot & run Norton tool in safe mode
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082915