1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

universal serial bus

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by goodwin24, Apr 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. goodwin24

    goodwin24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    whenever i plug my usb hub in and set it up, it will work fine... untill i come to turn my pc on again. at this point it takes about ten minutes to get past the start-up screen showing you the info of the pc.
    i am running on MicroSoft Windows XP
    i have a Compaq Evo D510 SFF.
    can someone please help me!
    thanks in advance - jay :)
     
  2. Ash_11

    Ash_11

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    464
  3. goodwin24

    goodwin24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    thankyou for the effort but when i followed microsofts instructions it did nothing. :(
     
  4. goodwin24

    goodwin24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    can anyone help me with this issue? :confused:
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,923
    First Name:
    Rob
    Have you contacted Compaq? It might be a known issue, its a hardware issue for sure. Is it only a problem with teh hub attached or with a device atatched to it? Try connecting only one device at a time. You can also check in the BIOS setup that it is not set to boot any other devices other then the hard drive - there may be an option to boot other devices. Also check for BIOS updates on Compaq's website - it might have been addressed in one.
     
  6. goodwin24

    goodwin24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Thankyou for your help. I have not contacted Compaq and I have never downloaded anything from Compaq's website. I will try and sort it out like you have said but no garauntee that it will!
    thanks again
    Jay =D
     
  7. goodwin24

    goodwin24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    HELP. Can anyone help me with this problemo?????
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    As was previously mentioned, this is obviously a hardware or Compaq specific error. You'll most likely have to deal with Compaq to solve it.
     
  9. goodwin24

    goodwin24 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    119
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220437

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice