Unknow device in Device Manager

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

flyboy320

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Messages
214
I have just installed XP on my old IBM Thinkpad (PIII500, 192mb ram). Everything went great, and the computer seems to be running fine.

I do notice however, that when I view the Device Manager, there is one entry under "Unknow device". When I double click on it the windows says the following;

Device type: Other devices
Manufacturer: unknown
location: on Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System

And under Device status, its says This device is not configured correctly.

All other devices seem OK;

Batteries
Computer
Disk Drives
Display Adapters
DVD/CD-rom drives
Floppy disk controlers
Floppy disk drives
IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
Infrared devices
keyboards
mice and other pointing devices
modems
monitors
PCMCIA adapters
ports
processors
sound, video, and game controlers
system devices
universal serial bus controllers

I don't have the original disks for the computer. Nothing has been hooked up to the laptop yet (printer, zip drive etc.). The computer seems to work just fine, its just this unknow device that's got me thinking...
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
Have you tried deleting it and rebooting? It looks like evrything that should be there installed correctly going by the list.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
37
How about letting windows automatically install it? "Install the software automatically (Recommended)". If it does not work, grab the latest laptop drivers/utilities pack from your manufacturer's website then install and restart your system.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2003
Messages
39
My guess? It's an onboard network card. Do like they said above, remove it and reboot. It should (if its not damaged) automatically install the drivers for it. If it cmoes back as an unknown device, then contact the manufacturer and ask them if they have drivers for it.

Cheers,
Frank
 

flyboy320

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Messages
214
I have removed the device, and them rebooted. Xp finds the new hardware, but does not know what it is. It still comes up as unknown.

I'll try and find the drivers from IBM's site.....
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
Look specifically for onboard drivers. As stated above it may be onboard network.
 

flyboy320

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Messages
214
Ok, I have narrowed it down.

When I do a "install new driver" and do a search for all new hardware, it come back with a wizard and it asks for the software for a "BCM 5701 Gigabit ethernet card"

Done a search online, but can't seem to find the driver for it....
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
What is the exact model type of the laptop?

The drivers may be on the IBM site but under a different name, I've seem XP identify some cards by other names - namely SMC cards.

Have you installed any of the Laptop utilities and chipset drivers yet?
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
It is made by Intel. I searched their website with no luck. The link below takes you to their site. Maybe you can email them and get an answer or have better luck than I did.

http://support.intel.com/
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Messages
423
The ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) might have more to do with the ability of your computer to turn on and off with and without the help of your software, harware and switches. This is the error that will always show up when loading Windows 98 and up onto an AT system; in that case it cannot be fixed. However in an ATX board it may be a problem with a setting in advanced power management. Check to see if it is turned on in all occasions in cmos. If there are any settings disabling it, that may help explain the error. It is also not unheard of for this item to just plain be faulty/broken. One last thing to try is a visit to your system's homesite and find updated drivers or patches, discussion or tech support.
 

flyboy320

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Messages
214
Damn you guys are good!!!!

I have searched for a couple of hours and came up empty. I will post results from the link GwizJoe posted.... :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top