Unknown cause - Jumping mouse & Network lag

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Venae

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
52
Hiya,

Ok so I have the following problem. Sometimes the cursor will suddenly just start jumping across the screen compared to smooth movement. At first I though it was just a battery problem but so far I have replaced the batteries twice. So I updated my graphics drivers, and any other OS updates & hardware firmware. But it still happens.

I've noticed that there's also suddenly a massive delay on the network. E.g. Normal is around 10 - 20ms Jumps to 500+ms.

Graphics seems to unaffected as animations run normally. I thought it could then be hard drive activity, but I'm using an SSD.

-

OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8 Pro with Media Center, 64 bit
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-8150 Eight-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 21 Model 1 Stepping 2
Processor Count: 8
RAM: 16328 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti, 1024 Mb (Running with 310.90 drivers)
Hard Drives: D: Total - 478519 MB, Free - 419006 MB; F: Total - 114470 MB, Free - 23993 MB; J: Total - 953866 MB, Free - 759903 MB;
Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., Crosshair V Formula (Running with 1703 firmware)
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,754
Wireless or Bluetooth mouse? If so, and you are also using Wi-Fi be aware that there have been a few (very few) instances of some kind of interference between the two. Keep the radio that communicates with the mouse as far as possible from the Wi-Fi adapter.
 

Venae

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
52
I had this same problem and had downloaded a driver that fixed it, but not on remote desktops. Had to do a refresh of Windows 8 and lost the driver. When I went to search for it again, I ran across this page, http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19681_102-350303/cursor-jumps-all-over-while-typing/, and it resolved it w/o d/l a driver. Again, the fix does not work while on remote desktops.
Hi!

Thanks for the reply, I think it worked. Since I thought Windows 8 had all the necessary drivers I didn't think twice about checking that. Since I'm using an Asus Crosshair V Formula, I downloaded all the drivers that are compatible with my version of Windows 8 (64-bit) and installed them. I also updated the firmware for the USB controller and so far I've not had any problem. It's early days yet though.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,912
Venae/Ventrixius,

We note that you are posting using two different user accounts. As we only allow one account here, please advise which one you'd like to keep as well as whether you prefer to have all posts merged under the chosen username or just have the other account closed.
 

Venae

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
52
Venae/Ventrixius,

We note that you are posting using two different user accounts. As we only allow one account here, please advise which one you'd like to keep as well as whether you prefer to have all posts merged under the chosen username or just have the other account closed.
Hi!

Can I keep Venae, with posts merged. The other account could then be closed? Thanks
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top