1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unknown network, no internet access.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Kg6, Jan 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kg6

    Kg6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Hi!

    My wife has had no internet access on her computer since yesterday. So far all my efforts to solve the problem have been fruitless. She claims that she changed no setting or anything whatsoever, but I can't guarantee this.

    I have a DSL connection with the router (motorola) connected to a d-link switch. Connected to the switch is a wireless broadcasting thingy. This setup has been working for over two years with these same computers. The pc runs windows 7 home edition

    It must be a problem on the pc itself, since other pcs using the same cables/wireless connection have flawless internet connection.

    I think I can eliminate a problem with network card drivers. Both the wireless card and the 'normal' network card cause the same problem. I have tried updating, uninstalling, re-installing.. drivers nonetheless, without any difference.

    I have also tried other solutions commonly proposed, like resetting the TPC/IP stack and using the windows troubleshooting option, without any results. The troubleshooting says: default gateway is not available.

    My guess would be that *some* overall network setting in windows causes both the cable and wireless connection to malfunction. I wouldn't know what though, since I don't know what she's been doing with the pc...

    Also worth noting is that yesterday, for like an hour or so, it seemed like the affected computer was also kicking other computers off the network. Whenever I turned it on, the entire network would stop functioning. This is over now, so it may have been a coincidence.

    I'm not sure which other information may be necessary, I will provide it as needed.

    And a big thanks already to whomever knows how to fix this. Life without internet is tough ;)

    EDIT: The wireless connection is now working somehow. It seems a bit slow though, I'd prefer to get the cable connection up :/
    EDIT2: wireless network does not work anymore (while on other pc's it keeps functioning perfectly)
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

    Try to connect by both ethernet and wireless and show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. Kg6

    Kg6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Here you go :) The wifi seems to be doing ok for now, still nothing on the ethernet. Let me know if this is ok and if I can post anything else :)


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Vanessita>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Vanessita-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : telenet.be

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-69-95-5C-32-A8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9445:31d6:4a8f:be10%14(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.190.16(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 199256469
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-41-60-F1-E0-69-95-4E-07-4D

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : telenet.be
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : AC-81-12-54-68-32
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a528:60b8:14f2:f251%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 81.83.209.135(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.240.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : maandag 30 januari 2012 21:48:50
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : maandag 30 januari 2012 22:48:50
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 81.83.208.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.137.3
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234890882
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-41-60-F1-E0-69-95-4E-07-4D

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.130.4
    195.130.131.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.telenet.be:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : telenet.be
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Teredo Tunneling Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{8019477F-DBC3-4A64-BCF7-D569BC58614A}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : telenet.be
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:5153:d187::5153:d187(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.130.4
    195.130.131.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    [​IMG]
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    The wireless is showing a Public IP address, similar to but not identical with the IP address of your posts. Please describe your network, including how many Public IP addresses you are supposed to get, brand and model of modem and router and switch, and exactly how the modem is connected to the router and the router to the switch.
     
  5. Kg6

    Kg6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    I'm posting this from my other pc, which is also connected to the wireless. They told me the wireless was for one pc only, which is why I'm afraid I'll get inferior speeds with several pc's on it.

    Well I don't really know how many public ip's I'm supposed to get. The company installed this setup though, so I think that should be ok, besides it's been working fine for years. The setup is as follows: The modem is a Motorola Surfboard. It is connected to a D-link switch (fast ethernet switch, DES1005d). From the switch leave 3 cables: one straight to the malfunctioning pc, one to a D-link wireless access point (which is still doing fine at the moment) and one to the digital tv system (also no problems with that). So basically the pc in question gets its network access from the switch, which is connected to the modem. I've tried plugging the cable that runs from the switch to the pc into my laptop, and that works fine.. so I really think it must be a problem with the pc's configuration, but I have no idea what. I'd also find it weird if the network card would be broken, since it still reports network access, just no internet access...
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    So it sounds like you are getting two or three public IP addresses. Sometimes in setups like those you get more than you are supposed to, and then some update to the ISP's system catches the mistake. Other times the first n adapters that access the internet are registered with the ISP, and then to get some other device connected you have to call and have one of the first n de-registered.
     
  7. Kg6

    Kg6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    On the one hand I wouldn't be surprised if it was something like that. ISP here in Belgium = highway robbery. It's weird though, they installed it this way themselves, with the switch and everything, same computers. Plus, if that were the case, shouldn't I also be unable to connect both pc's to the wireless? Right now we're online simultaneously without major problems.

    (side-rant: I've called their helpdesk already anyways and they didn't say anything like this. After a while it became clear the friendly lady who answered wouldn't be able to solve my problem though, so she told me to wait (and pay) for a couple of minutes while she "checked some things".You know then they play some songs while you wait, so I listened to two of them and then the sound stopped. She hung up on me! Typical... )

    Well anyways, probably my best option is to keep using the wireless then, and hope it doesn't cause any ip conflicts.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1038810