Unknown Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

shasta2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
129
Hi, I've done Malwarebytes scans, Super Anti spyware free, Spybot and Secunia Scans but I can't figure out what is making my computer unstable. It will crash for no apparent reason. For the last year, I have not been able to instal two Windows updates:
Windows PowerShell 2.0 and WinRM 2.0 for Windows Vista for x64-based Systems (KB968930)

Installation date: ‎1/‎2/‎2013 3:06 AM

Installation status: Failed

Error details: Code 80073712

Update type: Recommended

The Windows Management Framework Core package includes Windows PowerShell 2.0 and Windows Remote Management (WinRM) 2.0. For more information on the Windows Management Framework, see http://support.microsoft.com/kb/968929.

More information:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=165613

I'm also getting a message from HP Solution Center saying that "the feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable. Click OK to try again or enter an alternate path to a folder containing the installation package 'SolutionCenter.msi' in the box below.
I'm sure I have too many programs opening as well when I start up.

Could you please help- me get this cleaned up ? :)

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 64 bit
Processor: Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5300 @ 2.60GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 6133 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) G33/G31 Express Chipset Family, 320 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 596475 MB, Free - 334210 MB; D: Total - 14001 MB, Free - 1386 MB; K: Total - 953634 MB, Free - 830783 MB;
Motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION, Benicia
Antivirus: Norton AntiVirus, Updated and Enabled
 

shasta2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
129
Thank you for trying to help. I followed instructions to no avail. I tried to correct this problem 1 1/2 years ago. Even got the reinstall CD's from Microsoft. It would not let me reinstall. I just thought perhaps there was a current solution.
In the mean time, now I can't even send out emails. I don't think it's due to the updates not installing, as they haven't installed for the last two years. Any other ways I can check for solutions to stabilize my computer for the time being?
Thank you,
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
go into msconfig/startup

untick the boxes of the ones you do not need to start when booting up

do you get any bsod error messages

does it crash in safe mode
 

shasta2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
129
I may need a little help with what to keep from loading on start up. I can follow directions but I don't want to delete anything that should be running.
I'm not sure what you mean by bsod error messages.
I guess it doesn't crash so much as it instead, gives me a message that Firefox has stopped responding and program will close.
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
you will not be deleting anything just disabling it on startup

anything that is not microsoft or your anti virus program

you can always start something up again on boot by reticking the box

try reinstalling firefox
 

shasta2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
129
Ok, I did all of that. I can send emails now! I'll watch for signs of anything else out of the ordinary. I get plenty of malware, but I try to do scans everyday or every other day. Thank you for getting my email back on track :)
 

shasta2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
129
Ok, is it ok if I just turn off the Norton or do I have to uninstall it in order to use the Microsoft anti virus?
 

shasta2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
129
Ok, I installed the Microsoft download you recommended. Is it really any better than Norton? I did a scan with SuperAntiSpyware today and it found 162 file threats detected. So I should probably still do malware scans, correct?.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,431
Run the Norton Removal Tool - having two anti-virus programs will add to your problem.
http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

Post the log file from SuperAntiSpyware
Start SuperAntiSpyware again.
Click View Scan Logs.
Highlight the scan log entry.
Click - View Selected Log.
The scan log will appear in Notepad.
Copy and paste in your next post.
-----
Download MalwareBytes to your desktop.
Download the Free version.
MalwareBytes
Once downloaded to your desktop.
Close all open browser windows.

MalwareBytes
Click on the Install icon - allow it to update during the install process.
Start Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.
Click on Scanner > then quick scan > then Scan.
Any infections or problems will be highlighted in red.
After the scan is finished - Click - Show Results.
Check that all entries are selected.
Click - Remove Selected.
You may be prompted to restart to finish the removal process.
If Yes - restart your Pc.

Start Malwarebytes again.
Click on the Logs Tab.
Highlight the scan log entry.
Click - Open.
The scan log will appear in Notepad.
Copy and paste it in your next post.
-------
Download Security Check by screen317
http://screen317.spywareinfoforum.org/
Save it to your Desktop.

Right click and select "Run as Administrator"
A command Prompt window will open.
Let it scan the Pc - press any key when asked.
It should now open in Notepad - and will save a log called checkup.txt.
Post the result of the scan here.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,084
yes you can just turn it off
It's really best to only have one "installed" as there are often other components, services, etc. that are still active that can cause conflicts. :)
 

shasta2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
129
I'll uninstall Norton when I get home and run the other scans. Then I'll post them!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top