1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

unknown source of heavy ram usage

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by DeEND, Nov 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DeEND

    DeEND Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    this happens completely by random
    my ram usage would suddenly pop up to 95% to 98% for around 5mins or more
    would be simple to just kill the process thats using that much memory right?
    NOPE.

    http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/362/20111107000916.png

    and i have 4gb of ram and there is NO possible way for these ram usage to add up to 3.8gb

    http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/7583/20111107001110.png

    its the ram usage graph of what happens after the random spike and the spike that occurs afterwards
    theres also immense lag and freezing that occurs after ram usage returns to normal (yes i couldnt move my mouse when it froze there)

    and the even more odd thing is CPU usage remains the same as it was when it was idle

    why is this happening and how do i fix it >.<
    gonna do a virus scan tonite and see if anything turns up, i have a hunch that nothing will turn up....

    then again it might be hardware failure.... hope not
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,939
    First Name:
    Frank
    You didn't advise if you're using XP or Vista or 7, 32-bit or 64-bit, but 93 is a lot of running processes. :eek:

    You have a program named Pale Moon that appears to be using a lot of RAM.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. DeEND

    DeEND Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    ah forgot that >.<

    win7 64bit

    palemoon is a modified version of firefox
    93 isnt much when half of those are using less than 1000kb of ram

    i have no idea how the 2.3gb of ram usage comes outta nowhere
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,939
    First Name:
    Frank
    If you can submit images of your startup list and services list, I'm sure we can noticably trim down that startup load.

    The startup list is in Start - Run - MSCONFIG - OK - "Startup" tab.

    Make sure the "Startup Item" column is wide enough to see the entire names.

    The services list is in Start - Run - SERVICES.MSC - OK.

    Make sure the "Name" column is wide enough to see the entire names.

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    According to your image, Palemoon is using about 380 MB.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - unknown source heavy
  1. James321
    Replies:
    28
    Views:
    1,632
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025801

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice