1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unlock Bios???

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by xXComputerGuyXx, Jun 17, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xXComputerGuyXx

    xXComputerGuyXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    My specs are...

    Intel i7 2720qm
    8GB ram
    1TB HHD
    Windows 10
    Bios: InsydeH2o setup utility rev. 3.5 (R0200Z9)
    ---Sony Vaio PCG71913l (EH25FM)

    I have noticed that i was missing a few options my the bios (which i think is normal). I read some where that you can unlock your bios. Is it possible if i can unlock mine? I want to do this becuse i am running legacy mode, not UEFI, and i am missing that option in my bios. Thanks in advance!

    Sent from my SM-G360P using Tapatalk
     
  2. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,228
    First Name:
    Andrew
    No you can't. WELL maybe...it's extremely risky however and could brick your board, rendering it completely useless.

    However, you probably don't have that option because you're likely running an OEM ROM on that BIOS.
     
  3. xXComputerGuyXx

    xXComputerGuyXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Aaa well, i guess its not worth the risk. Thank though!

    Sent from my SM-G360P using Tapatalk
     
  4. xXComputerGuyXx

    xXComputerGuyXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Because* it was a typo in my post, again thanks Metallica5456

    Sent from my SM-G360P using Tapatalk
     
  5. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,228
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Sure. Sorry.
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,117
    OEM boards hide settings such as bclk or fsb settings, voltage settings, etc. While it is technically possible to edit or mod a bios, doing so requires a pretty high level of skill.
    One incorrect keystroke and you render your board unbootable ie junk.
     
    metallica5456 likes this.
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1191649

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice