1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unnecessary processes...

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Chubby_Toad, Jul 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chubby_Toad

    Chubby_Toad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    is there an easy way, a program maybe, to go through the processes running in task manager and get rid of any unnecessary or unwanted processes using up memory?
     
  2. Mr. Newton

    Mr. Newton

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    12,921
    No, you have to do that manually.There is a site that gives descriptions of most of what is there but you still have to decide what you want running.http://www.processlibrary.com/directory/files/atiptaxx/
    Know what you are disabling before you disable it.
    Check a process and if in doubt then ask here.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,686
    C_T:

    If you post a HijackThis log here, I can assist you with trimming down your startup load.

    With XP and Vista, there are 2 places where you manage the startup load:

    Start - Run- MSCONFIG - OK - "Startup"(tab)

    Start - Run - SERVICES.MSC - OK

    These sites will greatly assist you:

    http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?type=&filter=&count=100&offset=0

    http://www.blackviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm

    http://www.blackviper.com/WinVista/servicecfg.htm

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Chubby_Toad

    Chubby_Toad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    How Do I Disable SmartMenu.exe??
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,686
    That executable file name is associated with HP MediaSmart, which I'm not familiar with.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Is there some specific problem? Memory use is managed by Windows and you don't need to try to reduce its usage since it is handled very well already.

    But getting rid of unneeded processes may speed things up, depending what they are.

    Some can only be disabled in their settings (or they will keep coming back), but others are easily turned off with a startup manager.

    Startup Control Panel
    MZ Startup Manager
    Startup Control Panel (Exe version for Vista)
    Emsa Startup Manager
    EM Startup Manager
    WheresJames Startup Manager

    Startup Programs Reference
     
  7. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    Dont forget to dump the side bar if its speed you are after
    I have tweaked around on vista and have found you dont gain much at all
    but the side bar does make a differance,also if you have something in place of window defender you can also disable it.

    With xp however by keeping my start up light and a few services disabled,there is a very noticeable difference,

    Dont expect miracles with vista after lightening up the load
     
  8. llsee

    llsee Larry

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    108
    I've always relied on the Black Viper website Windows Tuning recommendations. He has scripts available for XP, and gives multiple suggestions for Windows started processes, such as a minimal system, safe system etc. I've been following his suggestions for several years.
     
  9. Chubby_Toad

    Chubby_Toad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    I'm not looking for more speed per se, just a lighter load to keep my cooling fans from making so much dang noise, even when my PC is in sleep mode. I disabled MediaSmart and Aero and my PC is much quieter now; until I start Photoshopping or gaming that is ;)
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,686
    Adobe Photoshop and hard-core gaming will definitely put a processor and memory and graphic load on a computer.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/846178