1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

unnessesary startup message

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by ambstrako, Sep 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ambstrako

    ambstrako Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Hi,

    i had recently installed diskeeper 8 home edtion but had uninstalled it. Even though the uninstallation was successful, there is a weird startup message after the "starting windows 98" message. It goes like this :

    C:\>SET PATH= C:\WINDOWS; C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND; "D:\PROGRAM FILES\ EXECUTIVE SOFTWARE\ DISKEEPER"

    I had deleted every possible registry entry but still it is there. It is taking up at least 20secs before windows can start. can someone pls tell me how to remove it? Thanks in advance!!! :)
     
  2. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    It sounds like everything wasn't deleted from the registry. Sometimes this happens with Norton too. What OS are you using?
     
  3. Lurker1

    Lurker1

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,992
    It still might be in the autoexec.bat file. Try editing that file (remove the line) then save the edited file.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The path command isn't the problem, my guess is it's whatever follows the path command in AUTOEXEC.BAT. If it's hanging there with that displayed, I suspect there's a command that's responsible. How about pasting the contents of the AUTOEXEC.BAT file into a message?
     
  5. ambstrako

    ambstrako Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    this is the autoexec.bat contents:

    SET Path=%Path%;"D:\Program Files\Executive Software\Diskeeper\"

    so i just delete it??
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Try just renaming the AUTOEXEC.BAT to AUTOEXEC.SAV and rebooting, see if the issue goes away. Since the only thing the file is doing is adding the now bogus path, it shouldn't mind at all.
     
  7. ambstrako

    ambstrako Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks a lot !!! it works!!! :)
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/164303

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice