Unusual Cpu Usage

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mrkewl

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
5
I restarted my computer and it took about 5 minutes longer to load back onto the desktop. When I checked the task manager it was at 50% already and it keeps jumping up and down. I scanned for spyware and tried restoring as well.

My specs I believe are

Windows Media Edition XP
2.8Ghz
1.5Gb Ram

Heres a screenshot of whats open in my task manager:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v214/shinobi678/untitled.jpg

Here is the Hijack thing ive seen people post:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 11:36:44 PM, on 1/29/2007
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\ehome\ehSched.exe
c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
C:\Program Files\AIM6\aim6.exe
C:\Program Files\AIM6\aolsoftware.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://us9.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://srch-us9.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://srch-us9.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://srch-us9.hpwis.com/
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://google.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://us9.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://srch-us9.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://srch-us9.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://srch-us9.hpwis.com/
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://us9.hpwis.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {243B17DE-77C7-46BF-B94B-0B5F309A0E64} - C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyside.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - (no file)
O3 - Toolbar: HP View - {B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5} - c:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\bin\hpdtlk02.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSConfig] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe /auto
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Aim6] "C:\Program Files\AIM6\aim6.exe" /d locale=en-US ee://aol/imApp
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
O9 - Extra button: MoneySide - {E023F504-0C5A-4750-A1E7-A9046DEA8A21} - C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyside.dll
O16 - DPF: {94B82441-A413-4E43-8422-D49930E69764} (TLIEFlashObj Class) - https://rtc1.webresponse.one.microsoft.com/media/xp/TLIEFlash.CAB
O16 - DPF: {CD995117-98E5-4169-9920-6C12D4C0B548} (HGPlugin9USA Class) - http://gamedownload.ijjimax.com/gamedownload/dist/hgstart/HGPlugin9USA.cab
O16 - DPF: {D88C7675-7CEE-4C9A-BDD4-7A43EED7794D} (Logout Class) - http://www.gamengame.com/KALogoutComponent.cab
O20 - Winlogon Notify: igfxcui - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\igfxsrvc.dll
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager (ccEvtMgr) - Symantec Corporation - c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Password Validation Service (ccPwdSvc) - Symantec Corporation - c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccPwdSvc.exe
O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\11\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
O23 - Service: iPodService - Apple Computer, Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Auto Protect Service (navapsvc) - Symantec Corporation - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
O23 - Service: Remote Packet Capture Protocol v.0 (experimental) (rpcapd) - Unknown owner - %ProgramFiles%\WinPcap\rpcapd.exe" -d -f "%ProgramFiles%\WinPcap\rpcapd.ini (file missing)

Hope someone can help me.
 

techkid

David
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,339
When it comes down to it, Norton products are pretty greedy when it comes to system resources. And AOL doesn't help much either (these two programs have caused many a calamity here). AVG is a pretty good antivirus program (link available in my signature). I haven't got a clue what to do about AOL, however.

You might want to update your Java, as well. There is a newer version available with fixes of previous bugs and other issues. You can download the update here.

Apart from that, I can't really see anything major, but you should wait for a more knowledgable member to give the OK.
 

mrkewl

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
5
Thanks for the response.
I updated my Java and its still has high cpu usage from start up.
My AOL thing is my messenger which shouldn't take up any cpu at all.
Its still Starting at high cpu usage.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
475
All "Services" run under "System." For good information see: http://www.theeldergeek.com/services_guide.htm "Manual" is the safe setting. Manual status "Services" do not start with windows and run continuously like Automatic ones do, but remain available to the user and the system should they be required. I have just a few "Disabled." I have a great many set to "Manual." I suggest Sysinternals free Process Explorer: http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/ProcessesAndThreads/ProcessExplorer.mspx (download link at bottom of page) It will offer a mouse over view of the "Services" running under each instance of svchost. Hint: Try clicking the column header "Name" to switch from list to "tree" view of processes.
 

mrkewl

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
5
Thank you for the reply!

Okay, I looked at what was running in my system and i got confused and didn't know what to stop. Ill post the picture of it and hopefully someone can advise me on what to stop.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
475
I cannot tell you what to do with your system. I have confidence in the information at Elder Geek, and those are some of the things that should probably be explored. There may be other factors as well. I do suggest addin "CPU Time" column to Process Explorer. Very helpful. If you click the column head for Processes(not name-sorry) the list will sort out of the "tree" view.
 

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
Howdy,


Your aim6.exe does not need to be running, you can start it manually if needed.

Your firefox.exe seems to be taking a lot of system resources also.
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Right click on "System 4" or "services.exe" in Process Explorer, then click Properties, then the Threads tab, then sort the display by clicking the CPU column name (might need to click a couple of times to get highest CPU usage at the top).

I have had trouble in the past with USBPORT.SYS which turned out to be a problem with a USB to serial port adapter box I had connected.
 

mrkewl

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
5
Frank4d, thank you for your reply, now i have found the problem.
It is this thing called cx88enc.sys+0x3548 that is causing all the cpu usage.
When I suspend it My cpu usage goes back to normal and everything is fine.
But I have to do it everytime i start up my computer, how do i make it so that it is fine from start up without having to suspend it everytime i get on my computer?
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
"cx88enc.sys" appears to be related to a Conexant 23880 video capture card. Do you have such a card? You might try to uninstall and re-install the drivers for it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top