1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unusual Cpu Usage

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mrkewl, Jan 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mrkewl

    mrkewl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    I restarted my computer and it took about 5 minutes longer to load back onto the desktop. When I checked the task manager it was at 50% already and it keeps jumping up and down. I scanned for spyware and tried restoring as well.

    My specs I believe are

    Windows Media Edition XP
    2.8Ghz
    1.5Gb Ram

    Heres a screenshot of whats open in my task manager:

    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v214/shinobi678/untitled.jpg

    Here is the Hijack thing ive seen people post:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 11:36:44 PM, on 1/29/2007
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\ehome\ehSched.exe
    c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    C:\Program Files\AIM6\aim6.exe
    C:\Program Files\AIM6\aolsoftware.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://us9.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://srch-us9.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://srch-us9.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://srch-us9.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://google.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://us9.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://srch-us9.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://srch-us9.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://srch-us9.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://us9.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {243B17DE-77C7-46BF-B94B-0B5F309A0E64} - C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyside.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - (no file)
    O3 - Toolbar: HP View - {B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5} - c:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\bin\hpdtlk02.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSConfig] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe /auto
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Aim6] "C:\Program Files\AIM6\aim6.exe" /d locale=en-US ee://aol/imApp
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
    O9 - Extra button: MoneySide - {E023F504-0C5A-4750-A1E7-A9046DEA8A21} - C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyside.dll
    O16 - DPF: {94B82441-A413-4E43-8422-D49930E69764} (TLIEFlashObj Class) - https://rtc1.webresponse.one.microsoft.com/media/xp/TLIEFlash.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {CD995117-98E5-4169-9920-6C12D4C0B548} (HGPlugin9USA Class) - http://gamedownload.ijjimax.com/gamedownload/dist/hgstart/HGPlugin9USA.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D88C7675-7CEE-4C9A-BDD4-7A43EED7794D} (Logout Class) - http://www.gamengame.com/KALogoutComponent.cab
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: igfxcui - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\igfxsrvc.dll
    O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
    O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager (ccEvtMgr) - Symantec Corporation - c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Password Validation Service (ccPwdSvc) - Symantec Corporation - c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccPwdSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\11\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
    O23 - Service: iPodService - Apple Computer, Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
    O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Auto Protect Service (navapsvc) - Symantec Corporation - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Remote Packet Capture Protocol v.0 (experimental) (rpcapd) - Unknown owner - %ProgramFiles%\WinPcap\rpcapd.exe" -d -f "%ProgramFiles%\WinPcap\rpcapd.ini (file missing)

    Hope someone can help me.
     
  2. techkid

    techkid

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,339
    First Name:
    David
    When it comes down to it, Norton products are pretty greedy when it comes to system resources. And AOL doesn't help much either (these two programs have caused many a calamity here). AVG is a pretty good antivirus program (link available in my signature). I haven't got a clue what to do about AOL, however.

    You might want to update your Java, as well. There is a newer version available with fixes of previous bugs and other issues. You can download the update here.

    Apart from that, I can't really see anything major, but you should wait for a more knowledgable member to give the OK.
     
  3. mrkewl

    mrkewl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the response.
    I updated my Java and its still has high cpu usage from start up.
    My AOL thing is my messenger which shouldn't take up any cpu at all.
    Its still Starting at high cpu usage.
     
  4. 1101doc

    1101doc

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    All "Services" run under "System." For good information see: http://www.theeldergeek.com/services_guide.htm "Manual" is the safe setting. Manual status "Services" do not start with windows and run continuously like Automatic ones do, but remain available to the user and the system should they be required. I have just a few "Disabled." I have a great many set to "Manual." I suggest Sysinternals free Process Explorer: http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/ProcessesAndThreads/ProcessExplorer.mspx (download link at bottom of page) It will offer a mouse over view of the "Services" running under each instance of svchost. Hint: Try clicking the column header "Name" to switch from list to "tree" view of processes.
     
  5. mrkewl

    mrkewl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you for the reply!

    Okay, I looked at what was running in my system and i got confused and didn't know what to stop. Ill post the picture of it and hopefully someone can advise me on what to stop.
     

    Attached Files:

    • wdad.JPG
      wdad.JPG
      File size:
      164.5 KB
      Views:
      197
  6. 1101doc

    1101doc

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    I cannot tell you what to do with your system. I have confidence in the information at Elder Geek, and those are some of the things that should probably be explored. There may be other factors as well. I do suggest addin "CPU Time" column to Process Explorer. Very helpful. If you click the column head for Processes(not name-sorry) the list will sort out of the "tree" view.
     
  7. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Howdy,


    Your aim6.exe does not need to be running, you can start it manually if needed.

    Your firefox.exe seems to be taking a lot of system resources also.
     
  8. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Right click on "System 4" or "services.exe" in Process Explorer, then click Properties, then the Threads tab, then sort the display by clicking the CPU column name (might need to click a couple of times to get highest CPU usage at the top).

    I have had trouble in the past with USBPORT.SYS which turned out to be a problem with a USB to serial port adapter box I had connected.
     
  9. mrkewl

    mrkewl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Frank4d, thank you for your reply, now i have found the problem.
    It is this thing called cx88enc.sys+0x3548 that is causing all the cpu usage.
    When I suspend it My cpu usage goes back to normal and everything is fine.
    But I have to do it everytime i start up my computer, how do i make it so that it is fine from start up without having to suspend it everytime i get on my computer?
     
  10. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  11. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    "cx88enc.sys" appears to be related to a Conexant 23880 video capture card. Do you have such a card? You might try to uninstall and re-install the drivers for it.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/539539

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice