1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Unusually SLOW Internet!

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by NuclearCroissant, Feb 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NuclearCroissant

    NuclearCroissant Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Hello there,

    A few weeks ago, my internet was so fast I couldn't even blink before the new page, now it's horribly slow! Pages load for months, YouTube doesn't even work (instantly shows full red bar, as if it's all buffered, then you find that the video frequently stops because it has to load, what's up with that?!), games lag (turns out I have a ping over 9000). When I check for malware, MB and Avast come up clean (although I think they're missing something). What is wrong?! Can you guys help me fix my internet speed please?.

    P.S. My friend was trying to somehow connect the Xbox to my laptop, and I guess he messed around with the network adapters menu somehow, but in my system tray, the network icon (which is supposed to be a full 5 bars) shows up empty with a red x, even though I'm wirelessly connected to a router and my connection is perfect! This probably needs to go into the network section, but I decided to kill two birds with one stone, if I can.

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. JennyJackson01

    JennyJackson01

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Try hardwiring your machine and resetting your router back to factory default and then re-install the logon information.

    Jenny
     
  3. NuclearCroissant

    NuclearCroissant Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    when you say re-install the logon information....you mean re-set the network info? Because I reset the router?
     
  4. rotarysteve

    rotarysteve Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    496
    dunno here,

    you may of already tried this, but right click on the network icon and see if there is a repair option. If so click on it, might help.
     
  5. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    When you say you reset the router,do you mean a reset to default state(holding the reset button in for at least 15 secs) or a power on reset.?Just powering it off then on again ?
    And when you say you are wirelessly connected to the router and the connection is perfect.What does that mean?That,you can ping the gateway,or ?
    And as a followup to Jenny's post,generally here are the steps if you want to do that.
    Tips on setting up broadband connection, courtesy of Johnwill

    You don't need any setup disk to configure a broadband router.


    Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on. The following procedure should get you a connection with any broadband modem that is configured to use DHCP for the router connection, such as cable modems, and many DSL modems. If you require PPPoE configuration for the DSL modem, that will have to be configured to match the ISP requirements.
    • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
    • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
    • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
    • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
    • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
    • Boot the computer.

    When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous command output!

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/982244