Unwanted antivirus

Brigham

John
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 24, 2010
Messages
1,437
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Build 18363, Installed 20191216165443.000000+060
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 CPU @ 2.70GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 94 Stepping 3, CPU Count: 4
Total Physical RAM: 4 GB
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 530, 1024 MB
Hard Drives: C: 930 GB (869 GB Free); F: 31 GB (31 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. Z170-P, ver Rev X.0x, s/n 160778395309055
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver ALASKA - 1072009, s/n System Serial Number
Antivirus: 360 Total Security, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

I see that info utility has got a partial answer to my problem. I appear to have 360 Total Security which seems to be encroaching on my startup. A green and yellow dot has appeared in the bottom bar and sometimes popups for this appear on my desk top. How can I get rid of this, as it doesn't appear on my apps list.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2020
Messages
46
Revo Uninstaller free had some decent options for these. Not sure it still works. I haven't tried lately.
 

Brigham

John
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 24, 2010
Messages
1,437
I have Revo uninstaller and it has a "hunter" option. My problem is that I can't find out where the core of the 360 Total AV is to apply it.
 

Brigham

John
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 24, 2010
Messages
1,437
I have noticed that my antivirus (defender) in only on periodic use my AV is 360 Total Av. I would appear that I am unprotected. as it is shown as "snoozed"
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,542
Are you saying 360 Total Security does NOT appear in the "Programs And Features" list?
If you or someone else installed it in your computer, it should be in the list.

Not to change the subject, but are you running your computer with only 4 GB of RAM?
If you are, you need to increase it to at least 8 GB, and preferably to 16 GB.

-------------------------------------------------
 

Brigham

John
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 24, 2010
Messages
1,437
360 Total Security does not appear in the progs and features list, but I keep getting popups. With regard to the RAM I bought the recommended RAM but when I fitted them the computer didn't work at all, so I put the original 4GB back.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,542
According to your log:
Your computer has an ASUS Z170-P motherboard.
It has 4 DIMM slots and supports a maximum of 64 GB(16 GB x 4) of RAM.
It uses 288-pin, DDR4-2133(PC4-17000), 1.2 volt, CL=15, Unbuffered, Non-ECC modules.

It's possible you purchased the wrong modules or you didn't install them properly.

-------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
2,569
360 Total Security does not appear in the progs and features list, but I keep getting popups. With regard to the RAM I bought the recommended RAM but when I fitted them the computer didn't work at all, so I put the original 4GB back.
When you open Revo Uninstaller...does it show up in the installed software list? Do you have any browser extensions related to 360 Total AV?
 

Brigham

John
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 24, 2010
Messages
1,437
Nothing shows in the revo uninstaller, but I have buttons in the bar at the base of the desktop. one says 360Total security (Free) program version 10.8.0.1038 When I click on it, it brings up the check scan of 360 Total Security.
 

Brigham

John
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 24, 2010
Messages
1,437
I purchased the ones that crucial suggested when I gave all the details
8GB KIT
Desktop DDR4-2400
UDIMM
1.2V CL17

Nice to hear from you again.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,001
Do you have any browser extensions related to 360 Total AV?
Ithink bassfisher6522 is on the right track. Are you still using Firefox? If so, look for an add-on or extension for 360 Total Security there and if you find it remove it.
 

Brigham

John
Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 24, 2010
Messages
1,437
I have looked for extensions and add ons but nothing like 360 total security was there.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top