Unwanted wireless connected to my computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sarah06779

I've noticed a lot of people here seem to have problems connecting a wireless to their computers, but I have the opposite problem. I strongly suspect that there is a wireless computer connected to my desktop. (XP SP2).

I am really a PC novice, so I'm hoping someone can help me determine if I actually have this unwanted connection.

I recently bought my daughter a wireless, purchased a Linksys router and proceeded to add it to my computer's internet connection.

In control panel I clicked on "add a wireless connection". When the wizard opened there are two options. Either: "set up a new wireless network" OR "add a new computer to the "(my last name)" network.

I have no idea where that network came from. I've never instructed my computer to use my last name.

Also, after clicking on "Network Connections", there is a "subnet mask" IP address listed in addition to mine. I don't know if I should even be concerned about this.

On top of this, sometimes when I go to log off, I get a message "other people are using your computer. If you log off now, they may lose data."

AND after a weekend visit with their father, my kids told me "Daddy has a new laptop and he doesn't have to pay for internet service ... he uses his "neighbor's" service. (He is, BTW, a computer professional and I know without a doubt that he has spied on me in the past.)

Am I just being overparanoid?? If I do, in fact have this wireless connected to me, does this person have access to my internet activity or just the service itself?

I just want to know how to block that connection.

Thanks in advance for any advice and for your patience for reading this whole thing!!

Sarah

"other people are using your computer. If you log off now, they may lose data."