1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

up dating anti virus program

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by jabk36, Oct 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jabk36

jabk36 Thread Starter

Windows XP

Very much a beginner on computors.

Received an e-mail from Norton that antivirus subscription was running out, Oct. 26, and I needed to update.

When I click button to do so, am ask if I want to update or upgrade. Which should I do?
    Also was ask if I wanted to download or in the box?
    Was thinking of buying locally and installing. If I do that will I have to delete the old copy first?
    Told you I was a beginner....

Checked to see which version of Norton I have and got the following:
    2000-2002
    version 8.07.17c
    Norton antivirus ( OEM) for Dell ( 90)

Thanks in advance....

2. $teve

$teve

3. mobo

mobo

Agree with purchasing the physical program as you could always install it , uninstall it or in the event you have to reformat your pc you could reinstall it again...As well if at the year end of subscriptions you delete Norton from your system and reinstall it you would not be on the hook for a fee for another year of subscriptions.

4. BillC

BillC

Charlie & Steve,

I too have Norton 2003 and will need to do something by year end. I think I'm going to keep 2003 and just buy a renewal suscription. The current version works fine. I could avoid the potential problems of uninstalling-installing etc.

AS I understand it, the scan engine in 2004 has not changed just that "product activation" feature folks tend not to like. Plus, from observation it appears unwanted problems sometimes occur with upgrades and reinstalling, etc.