1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Up with Virtual Memory?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by matrim, Feb 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. matrim

    matrim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    See the below signature information first.

    My virtual memory is at 4 gigs. Is that not enough, or too much? I do play graphics intense games and am looking for an increase in performance. I will increase the physical memory soon, but for now I am looking at other options.
    Also, I am wondering if virtual memory needs to be set on my other partition drives as well or leave them without?

    Swap space? It's at 3 gigs. Not sure how to increase this.

    Utilize the physical address extension (PAE)?
     
  2. daddyhominum

    daddyhominum

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    958
    Other then graphics processing programs or scientific computing, it is hard to think of a program that would need 3 gigs of pagefile.
    If you need more memory, it is better to buy physical memory then enlarge the pagefile, imo.
     
  3. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    you really dont want to use page file or virtual ram while gaming, it will slow you to a crawel, let windows manage the page file and buy more ram
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Virtual memory is NOT a substitute for real memory. If you actually used a 4gig swap space, your system would be painfully slow!
     
  5. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    I think you reach a point of diminishing returns when a page file reaches a certain size. Old school wisdom said set the page file to 1.5X RAM (or 2X or 3X depending on who you listen to). So I have 2GB RAM and set the page file to 2GB. According to MyComputer the file was last accessed 3 days ago.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I let Windows manage the paging file, it hasn't been an issue for me. :)
     
  7. matrim

    matrim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Okay now im confused. I pulled the stats from Everest, and I dont ever remember changing swap space, but i remember messing with Virt Mem.

    So I should probably lower Virtual Memory which is the same as pagefile? And turn it off on the other partitions?

    Swap space should be turned lower as well? They are not the same, so how do I change swap space?

    Again, Virtual memory is at 4 Gigs and swap space is at 3 gig.
     
  8. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    The pagefile is only going to be "actively" used when you run low on available ram.

    Raising/lowering the pagefile does nothing more than create/reduce the amount of VM that Windows can use when/if it starts to page.

    So, if your system is not in a paging environment, playing with the pagefile settings will have no affect.

    When your system is under a normal load, do ctl-alt-del.
    Then, Performance Tab.

    Under Physical Memory,what is the Available number?
    Under Commit Charge,what is the Total and Peak numbers?
     
  9. matrim

    matrim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Hi,
    Under Available memory I have 343140(so...343 Mb?)

    Under Commit Charge:
    Total - 920768
    Limit - 3290700
    Peak - 987588
     
  10. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    So, of the 1 GB installed you still have 343MB available (not in use).

    And, all of your running apps, if they were all in ram simultaneously, and given all of the ram they were asking for (whether they would use it or not) would take up 920MBs. The highest this number got, was 987MBs.

    The limit is the sum of total ram plus the size of all pagefiles.

    Commit Charge

    Wikipedia

    Paging and swapfile settings are not something you need to worry about.
     
  11. matrim

    matrim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Hehe, okay thanks. But I did adjust actual virtual memory, so should I adjust it back down to default settings(Let the system manage it , i think is statement) ? since I did increase it? Someone said here, if it is too high it would have opposite effects.
     
  12. wilson44512

    wilson44512

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,450

    if your not sure let windows manage it
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544736

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice