1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Updated to SP3. Can't open links.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by lowtechinparis, Dec 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lowtechinparis

    lowtechinparis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.66GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 4 Stepping 1
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 502 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller, 96 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 38162 MB, Free - 13561 MB;
    Motherboard: , P4i65GV
    Antivirus: PC Cleaners, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Disabled

    Recently I downloaded SP3. It seems that I lost the use of my usual links on often visited sites. When I click on a link I get a small, short buzz noise and nothing happens. Does this have something to do with cookies, add ons or pop ups? How can I restore access to the links system wide?

    Thanks - Thomas
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Are you referring to favorites (bookmarks)?
     
  3. lowtechinparis

    lowtechinparis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    No. The bookmarks are OK. It's all the web Internet links as when you read an article and there's another URL to go to for more information, etc. Those links no longer take me to the intended address.
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  5. lowtechinparis

    lowtechinparis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Since I couldn't click the link to the Mircrosoft's fix, I retyped the link. It led to hot fixes but none of them were for Internet Explorer 8, just versions earlier than Explorer 7. I thought there was something basic about making sure a user can go to links...like leaving something on or off or switching something in the variious sub-menus like tools. Is there anything I can check to make sure I have that availability?
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Try checking the file association for NONE: URL HyperText Transfer Protocol

    Go to My Computer and click on Tools... > Folder Options. Then, click on File Types. Scroll down and locate the above file type and click on Advanced, then Edit. Now, compare the values to the ones listed below:

    Action: Open

    Application used to perform action:

    "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome

    Use DDE should be checked.

    DDE Message: "%1",,-1,0,,,,

    Application: IExplore

    DDE Application Not Running: blank

    Topic: WWW_OpenURL
     
  7. lowtechinparis

    lowtechinparis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    I checked the NONE:URL Hyper Text Transfer Protocol. It contains the exact information you provided.

    Regarding your message to try RESET, I consider that the "Nuclear" option and am hoping to find something less drastic as I would have to spend a lot of time re-inputting purged data.

    Thomas
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  9. daonly1

    daonly1

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    My advice---Don't use IE at all Just use Firefox or Google Chrome.
     
  10. lowtechinparis

    lowtechinparis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Phantom010,
    I did the download you recopmended (ie8-rereg.zip) and it cleared some of the problem. I can now follow links to some sites on the first click. However, not all links respond and again, I hear a dull buzz followed by no action. But, if I click after ten seconds or so, that works sometime too. A few links did not respond (for example, when I went from one link directly to another) but I'm far better off than when I started.
    Once again, Thanks.
     
  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    You're welcome!
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Updated Can't open
  1. BML
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    966
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031060

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice